While many cakes can be made vegan, angel food cake is a tough one.
It’s typically made with several eggs (not an exaggeration) that are whipped up into a meringue.
There aren’t usually milk ingredients, as we’ll see shortly, so angel food cake is usually dairy-free.
To make it vegan, you need to substitute those for an ingredient like aquafaba (the foam from chickpeas), which is a good alternative, but not the easiest one.
Table of Contents
Ingredients in Store-Bought Angel Food Cake
They will of course differ based on brand and store, but in general the ingredients are similar from cake to cake.
For example, here are the ingredients in a cake sold by Walmart:
Egg whites, sugar, wheat starch, enriched flour (bleached wheat flour, wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), baking soda, sodium aluminum phosphate, soy lecithin, invert sugar, monocalcium phosphate, sodium acid pyrophosphate, salt, artificial flavor, gum arabic, cellulose gum, sodium propionate (preservative), citric acid, sodium lauryl sulfate
Most of it is clearly vegan actually, but egg whites are the main ingredient, so it’s obviously not vegan.
Does Angel Food Cake Have Dairy?
Well, eggs are not considered dairy, so that Walmart angel food cake from above is dairy-free.
Similarly, there is no dairy in Betty Crocker’s angel food cake mix.
While different recipes that use store-bought cake mix call for different additional ingredients, very few of them use dairy.
The majority of angel food cake is dairy-free.
Is Angel Food Cake Vegan?
Vegan angel food cake is extremely uncommon.
Unfortunately, you’re not going to be able to find a store-bought vegan option unless you have a vegan specialty store.
If you have some talent as a baker, there are many online vegan angel food cake recipes that will guide you through the process of making one yourself.