Are Baguettes Usually Vegan?


Baguettes don’t always have their ingredients labelled, and if you’re at a restaurant it may not even be an option to find out what the ingredients are.

The good news is that in most places, baguettes are typically vegan.

They’re very simple to make, and the standard ingredients are the same almost everywhere.

Typical Baguette Ingredients

The main ingredients in a baguette are:

  • Flour
  • Water
  • Yeast
  • Salt

It’s not very common for anything else to be added. Although I have seen a few that have dairy ingredients like milk.

The only other ingredient to watch out for are mono- and di-glycerides.  Mono- and di-glycerides can be vegan, but they can also come from animal sources.

So if you want to be 100% sure, you’ll need to see the ingredients list.

But that being said, there’s a very high chance that a baguette you find in a bakery, grocery store, or restaurant is already vegan by accident.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment