Are Chips Ahoy Vegan? (Spoilers: They Have Dairy)

A

chips ahoy

I’ve read on a few blogs that Chips Ahoy are accidentally vegan.

I’m not sure what cookies those authors were looking at because Chips Ahoy most certainly are not vegan. And while there are dozens of varieties, they mostly use the same ingredients.

I looked through several, and none were even close to vegan.

Ingredients in Chips Ahoy!

There are some clear issues and some potential issues when you look at the ingredient list for a Chips Ahoy product.

Here’s the list for the standard original ones, note the bolded ingredients:

Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Semisweet Chocolate Chips (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Dextrose, Milk, Soy Lecithin), Sugar, Vegetable Oil (Soybean And/or Canola And/or Palm And/or Partially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Leavening (Baking Soda, Ammonium Phosphate), Salt, Artificial Flavor, Caramel ColorNatural Flavor.

The milk right away makes it obvious that these are not vegan cookies.

Not all varieties have milk in them, but the ones that don’t have some other milk ingredients like whey in them, so no real difference to vegans.

I highlighted 3 other ingredients that could be issues for vegans. I’ll explain why in case you’re curious, although it doesn’t really matter after the milk:

  • Sugar – Not all sugar is vegan, since some is made from bone char. Large junk food companies in particular have multiple suppliers in most cases, which means there’s a high chance at least one of those suppliers uses bone char.
  • Palm oil – Many vegans argue that palm oil is not vegan. Many animals (e.g. orangutans and tigers) have been pushed to the brink of extinction because of the palm industry.
  • Natural flavor – Natural flavors can be vegan, but aren’t always. It’s a term that covers a ton of ingredients, some derived from plants, and some derived from animals. There’s no way of telling from the ingredients label. 

While those aren’t too relevant at this point, knowing them could be useful in the future.

Verdict: Chips Ahoy! Are Not Vegan

It’s as clear as it can get, since Chips Ahoy cookies have dairy in them, they are not vegan.

The good news is that there are plenty of cookie brands that are vegan friendly if you’re willing to look for them.

Or, learn to make your own cookies from scratch, they’re way better anyways. Here are some vegan chocolate chip brands to get started.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment