Are Churros Vegan? (Costco, Jack in the Box, etc.)


Churros are rarely vegan. Their dough typically contain both egg and milk ingredients.

While there’s a lot of vegan bakeries that typically sell vegan versions of donuts and cakes, not many sell churros.

You’ll be hard-pressed to find any in grocery stores. If you really like churros, your best bet is to make your own.

Typical Churros Ingredients

While you can make vegan churros (they’re basically just fried dough after all), almost all traditional recipes contain animal products.

The most common ingredients are:

  • Flour
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Oil
  • Butter
  • Eggs

Butter and eggs are of course not vegan.

Unless you specifically go to a vegan or specialty baker, churros are almost never vegan-friendly. So if you really miss them, learning to make your own is your best option.

Do Churros Have Dairy?

Churros do typically have dairy since they usually contain butter. However, no other milk products are usually added.

Note that eggs are not a dairy product, since they are not made from milk, even though many people group them together.

Are Costco Churros Vegan?

Costco churros are not vegan friendly because they contain eggs.

Although they have a short ingredient list and most of them are plant-based, the eggs are a problem:

Water, Flour, Eggs, Oil, Lemon, Sugar, Salt.

Are Jack in the Box Churros Vegan?

Jack in the Box churros are not vegan friendly. They contain both egg whites and cream cheese. There’s actually egg whites in both the dough and the filling.

I cut out a few ingredients, but here is a fairly complete list of ingredients in Jack in the Box’s churros:

Dough (Enriched Wheat Flour, Water, Vegetable Oil, Modified Food Starch, Artificial Flavor, Vital Wheat Gluten, Sugar, Salt, Baking Powder, Egg Whites, Monoglycerides, Xanthan Gum), Filling (Sugar, Cream Cheese, Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Modified Tapioca Starch, Fructose, Oat Fiber, Cinnamon, Salt, Egg Whites, Locust Bean Gum, Mono & Diglycerides…

On top of those obvious non-vegan foods, there are also mono and diglycerides, which may not be plant-based.

Are Del Taco Churros Vegan?

According to Del Taco’s 2020 allergens information, their churros contain both milk and eggs and therefore are not vegan friendly.

deltaco churro allergens

It’s nice that they have a column for “vegan” foods, but other than the Beyond Avocado Taco and crinkle cut fries, there’s not much for us at the moment.

Are Domino’s Churros Vegan?

Domino’s churros are not vegan because they contain milk and eggs.

Considering that Domino’s seems to be the slowest big chain in accommodating vegans with their other food, I wouldn’t expect this to change anytime soon.

Where Can You Get Vegan Churros?

Some vegan bakeries do make them, but they are far from common. If you have a small local bakery that makes specialty foods, you might be able to ask them to make a custom batch for you.

I’ve also seen frozen churros at an “upscale” grocery store before that had a lot of vegan options in general. Gluten-free churros in stores are also more likely to not contain eggs or dairy, although some still do.

Realistically, it’s probably easier to make your own vegan churros, there are plenty of recipes out there. If you’re not much of a baker, perhaps you could pay a friend who likes to bake to make them for you.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.