Which Doritos Are Vegan? [Complete List 2023]

Most Doritos are not vegan.

  • Most Doritos contain milk or cheese ingredients and are not vegan. However a few flavors might be vegan.
  • Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips are vegan, but appear to have been discontinued so they are hard to find.
  • Doritos Blaze and Spicy Sweet Chili might be vegan, but have a few ingredients like natural flavors and caramel color which may or may not be vegan.

You’re not going to find an easy-to-see “vegan” label on any bad of Doritos.

Their website at the moment doesn’t mention “vegan” anywhere.

But, if you’re a fan of Doritos you do have a few options as a vegan.

Let’s take a look at them.

Keep in mind that I based everything in this post off the ingredient information on the Doritos website.

It may vary from country to country, so double-check before buying anything. I’ve pointed out the things to look for throughout this post.

Doritos Flavors that ARE Vegan

There’s only one flavor that I’m pretty confident are okay for vegans: the Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips.

doritos toasted corn tortilla chips

These are similar to other corn chips like Popcorners and have a very simple ingredient list:

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, and/or Sunflower Oil), and Salt.

All of those are clearly vegan ingredients.

Unfortunately, it seems like Doritos does not make them anymore, so you probably won’t be able to find them easily.

Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili MIGHT Be Vegan

Most varieties of Doritos are clearly vegan or not, except for the 2 here.

Depending on how strict of a vegan you are, you might consider Spicy Sweet Chili Flavored Tortilla Chips vegan.

spicy sweet chili doritos

Its ingredient list isn’t quite so short:

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, and/or Sunflower Oil), Salt, Sugar, Monosodium Glutamate, Fructose, Sodium Diacetate, Soy Sauce (Soybean, Wheat, Salt), Onion Powder, Maltodextrin (Made from Corn), Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Hydrolyzed Corn Protein, Garlic Powder, Torula Yeast, Malic Acid, Extractives of Paprika, Spices, Caramel Color, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Dextrose, and Natural Flavor.

There are 3 ingredients in them that I have some concerns over:

  • Natural flavor – Some natural flavors are vegan, and some are not. It’s an umbrella term for a ton of different plant and animal ingredients, so only Doritos knows if their natural flavors ingredients are vegan.
  • Sugar – In the United States, not all sugar is vegan. Most is, but some is made with bone char, so it depends on the supplier here.
  • Caramel color – Caramel color is usually just made from sugar. It’s different than caramel, which isn’t vegan in many cases

It’s probably safe here, but if you want to be 100% sure you’ll need to contact their customer service.

Personally, I stay on the safe side and wouldn’t take the risk here, but you have to make that call for yourself.

Doritos Flavors that are NOT Vegan

Most Doritos are not vegan because they have a ton of dairy ingredients.

Take the ingredients for the “Flamin’ Hot Nacho” flavor as an example. It contains (among others):

Whey, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), ButtermilkArtificial color, Romano Cheese, Whey Protein Concentrate, Lactose, Skim Milk, Milk Protein Concentrate

Here’s a list of Doritos flavors that are clearly not vegan because they have milk products in them:

  • Sweet & Tangy BBQ
  • 3D Crunch (all varieties)
  • Flamin’ Hot (all varieties, e.g. Nacho, Limon)
  • Dinamita
  • Tapatio
  • Collisions Blaze and Ultimate Cheddar
  • Nacho Cheese
  • Cool Ranch
  • Chile Limón
  • Poppin’ Jalapeño
  • Spicy Nacho
  • Flamas
  • Simply Organic (Spicy) White Cheddar
  • Blazin’ Buffalo & Ranch
  • Jacked Ranch Dipped Hot Wings
  • Salsa Verde
  • Taco Flavored tortilla chips

Summary: Are Any Doritos Vegan?

In summary, most Doritos are not vegan, but the Spicy Sweet Chili Flavored Tortilla Chips might be vegan. 

Unfortunately, you can’t really get a straight answer from the customer support channels of these giant companies.

I would assume that they are not vegan, I just can’t say for sure.

Many chip brands are the same. For example, most Chex Mix flavors aren’t vegan, but a few might be.

The one well-known exception is Tostitos, where most flavors are vegan.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. I've spent over 6 years as a freelance nutrition writer and researcher. During this time, I've tested over 50 vegan protein powders, and over 100 other types of vegan supplements.

Add comment