I’ve seen several claims that Gobstoppers are vegan.
Many sites say they are, along with other candy with similar ingredients, without presenting the whole story.
In reality, strict vegans will not consider Gobstoppers to be vegan.
Ingredients in Gobstoppers
To explain why I don’t consider them to be vegan-friendly, let’s take a look at the ingredients list:
Dextrose, Maltodextrin, and Less than 2% of Corn Syrup, Malic Acid, Calcium Stearate, Carnauba Wax, Artificial Flavors, Color Added, Blue 1, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 5 Lake. Yellow 6.
There are a few different flavors and varieties of Gobstoppers, but they all have similar ingredients.
The calcium stearate is a bit concerning since it can come from animals, but according to the VRG, most modern calcium stearate comes from vegetables.
Most of the other ingredients are clearly vegan, but I’d argue that the artificial colors added are not.
Why Most Artificial Colors Are Not Vegan
Just like artificial flavors, which are vegan, artificial colors are made synthetically – they don’t contain any animal products.
So what’s the issue?
I’ve written a detailed guide with sources to why artificial colors might not be vegan here.
Long story short, there are serious concerns about the safety of these ingredients. Certain ones are banned in North America, while many are banned in Europe.
Because of this, researchers are consistently doing animal testing to figure out if and how dangerous they are.
I don’t think I need to tell any vegan that animal testing is not vegan.
There are natural, vegan-friendly coloring alternatives that many other companies use, so it’s not like these are necessary in any way.
That’s my argument for why Gobstoppers are not vegan.
You may disagree about the artificial colors, and that’s fine, but you should at least know the whole story before making that decision.