Are Graham Crackers Typically Vegan?

A

The short answer is that while some vegan graham crackers exist, most graham crackers are not vegan friendly.

Why not?

Let’s look at a few popular brands to find out.

Ingredients in Most Graham Crackers

Here are the ingredients for Amazon’s brand of graham crackers:

Enriched flour, whole wheat flour, sugar, high oleic canola and/or soybean oil, honey, contains 2% or less of: leavening (baking soda, calcium phosphate), salt, natural flavor, soy lecithin, sodium sulfite.

There’s are two issues.

  • Honey is the obvious one that’s not a vegan food, so that rules out these graham crackers.
  • On top of that, the sugar they contain is likely not vegan either. Plain “sugar” is often processed with bone char, and it’s a safe bet that most junk food/candy companies use this type of non-vegan sugar.

Let’s move on to Nabisco’s graham crackers. Here’s what’s in them:

Unbleached Enriched Flour, Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Sugar, Canola Oil, Molasses, Palm Oil, Leavening (Baking Soda And/Or Calcium Phosphate), Salt.

There’s actually no honey, which is great, but there is still sugar, which rules them out for some vegans (many vegans don’t mind the sugar issue, that’s your call to make).

There’s also palm oil, which is a controversial ingredient. Palm oil is technically vegan, but many vegans don’t eat palm oil for ethical reasons.

We could repeat this for more brands, but most have honey and sugar, and the few that don’t (like Nabisco) often have other questionable ingredients.

There are some certified vegan graham crackers out there, but they’re hard to find.

SUMMARY

Most graham crackers contain honey, which makes them not vegan. However, if you’re okay on taking a chance on if the sugar used is vegan, and are okay with palm oil, there are a few brands that could be vegan.

Can You Make Vegan Graham Crackers?

vegan graham crackers

If you really want graham crackers, making your own is the best way to get your hands on a vegan one.

Considering honey and oils are so easy to substitute for vegan ingredients, it’s easy to make really good crackers yourself.

Here’s a recipe from Heather Cristo that just uses brown sugar and agave, and here’s an alternative if that doesn’t look good to you.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment