Are Haribo Gummy Bears Vegans?


Haribo Gummy bears might be the most famous and well-liked gummy bears.

Unfortunately, they are clearly not vegan for multiple reasons.

If you’d like to know why, read on…

Haribo Gummy Bear Ingredients

While different flavors might have slightly different ingredients, here’s are the typical Haribo gummy bear ingredients:

Corn syrup, sugar, gelatin, dextrose, citric acid, starch, artificial and natural flavors, fractionated coconut oil, carnauba wax, beeswax coating, artificial colors (yellow 5, red 40, blue 1).

Gelatin and beeswax are never vegan, so that alone makes Haribo gummy bears not vegan.

On top of that, some vegans don’t consider artificial colors to be vegan either due to the animal testing surrounding them.

And on top of that, the sugar may or may not be vegan, depending on if it was processed with bone char.

All-in-all, Haribo isn’t an option for vegans – at least not right now.

Vegan Gummy Bear Alternatives

The good news is that there are some vegan friendly gummy bears if you have a sweet tooth if you’re willing to look hard enough for them.

If you live in the United States, Billion Vegans has several. They do ship outside of the U.S., but you might face some customs fees – it’s up to you if you want to risk it.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment