There’s a lot of misinformation about what foods are actually vegan.
I’ve seen people claim that Corn Pops are vegan on numerous occasions, but I disagree.
Now, some vegans will still eat them, but I’ll need to explain why.
Ingredients in Corn Pops
Let’s take a look at what you’ll find in this cereal:
Milled corn, Sugar, Corn syrup, Salt, Vegetable oil, Annatto color, BHT for freshness, Wheat starch, Vitamin C, Niacinamide, Reduced iron, Zinc oxide, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B2, Vitamin B1, Vitamin A palmitate, Folic Acid, Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3
I’ve highlighted 2 ingredients of interest for vegans.
Here’s the issue with both:
- Sugar – Not all sugar in North America is vegan because some is made with bone char. So, the sugar here may or may not be vegan, we don’t know.
- Vitamin D3 – While it’s added in small amounts, the vitamin D3 added here is not vegan. It’s derived from lanolin, the oil on sheep’s wool.
So while the sugar being vegan is up in the air, the vitamin D3 is nearly 100% not vegan.
Some argue that because it’s added in extremely small amounts (which is true), that it’s not significant. But I think for most vegans, the line of acceptable amounts of animal products is zero.
Summary: Corn Pops Are Not Vegan
Regardless of the sugar, Corn Pops are not vegan because of the vitamin D3 alone.
Now, some vegans will still eat cereal like Corn Pops, and I’m not about to say that you’re not vegan if you do (you’re still having 99.9999% of the impact).
However, you should be aware of these issues and make a decision that you’re happy with.
For most vegans, that’s going to be saying no to Corn Pops, but veganism always has a personal definition, so you’ll have to decide for yourself.