Are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Vegan? – Not for Strict Vegans

A

Rice Krispies are closer to being vegan than most cereals, but I’d still argue that they aren’t.

If you’re not that “strict” of a vegan, you still might be okay with eating them.

I’ll explain why in this post.

Potential Non-Vegan Ingredients in Rice Krispies

rice krispies

The ingredients list of Rice Krispies is quite short, and most ingredients are obviously vegan:

  • Rice
  • Sugar
  • Malt flavor
  • Iron
  • B vitamins
  • Folic acid
  • Vitamin D3
  • Vitamin B12

It even has vitamin B12, which would be nice for vegans.

I highlighted 2 potential issues: Sugar and vitamin D3.

Sugar may or may not be vegan when sourced in North America, so there’s already a bit of a risk that Rice Krispies aren’t vegan. Some are willing to take a chance on that, while others aren’t.

But the more clear issue is the vitamin D3.

Why Vitamin D3 In Cereals Is Not Vegan

D3 is just a form of vitamin D, it’s the most absorbable form for humans.

Unfortunately, while most other vitamins added to food is vegan, vitamin D3 in particular is almost always derived from lanolin – an animal product.

Lanolin is the oil from a sheep’s wool, and there are many ethical concerns around the treatment of sheep.

lanolin

So it’s clear that the vitamin D added to Rice Krispies makes it a non-vegan product.

However, some vegans still eat it. Why?

Depending on how strict of a vegan you are, you might be okay with eating cereals with vitamin D3 in it. There’s an extremely small amount of it added.

It would take thousands of boxes for the D3 to add up to the amount of oil that comes from one sheep. So while it does affect animals, it’s not even comparable to eating most animal products.

You’ll have to decide if you’re okay with it or not. Personally I think it’s pretty easy to live without, so I don’t buy anything with D3 added to it.

Vegan Alternatives to Rice Krispies

If you love Rice Krispies, all is not lost.

There are quite a few knock-off products that are in fact vegan.

Here are the most popular ones that you should be able to find.

1. One Degree Organic Foods Sprouted Brown Rice Crisps

one degree rice crisps

One Degree makes a bunch of cereals, most of which are vegan.

There’s no vitamin D here, and most ingredients, including the sugar is organic.

The only potential issue is that it uses palm sugar, since many vegans avoid palm products.

There are still more options if that’s an issue.

2. Nature’s Path Organic Crispy Rice Cereal

natures path rice crispy cereal

This is an extremely simple cereal with only a few ingredients:

[Brown rice flour, cane sugar, sea salt, molasses

It’s clearly vegan and I can’t see anyone having an issue with it.

3. Love Grown Crispies

love grown crispies cereal

Finally, Love Grown makes a few different cereals that happen to be vegan.

Technically their rice crisp cereals are sold as “kids cereals,” but that won’t stop me.

They are obviously vegan, and a cool think that Love Grown does is incorporate beans into their cereals, which makes them a bit healthier and gives you a bit of protein.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment