Are Milk Duds Vegan? (Here are the Ingredients)


Milk Duds are not anywhere close to being vegan.

That probably should have been clear by the “milk” in the name.

Looking at the ingredient list of Milk Duds and there are many ingredients from animal sources:

Corn syrup, Sugar, Vegetable oil (includes Palm oil), Dextrose, Nonfat milk, Whey, Chocolate, Brown sugar, Mono and Diglycerides, Baking Soda, Confectioner’s Glaze, Salt, Dextrin

I highlighted the most obvious ones – milk and whey – which are both dairy ingredients.

Those alone make Milk Duds not vegan.

On top of that, there are controversial ingredients like palm oil. Plus there are mono and diglycerides, along with confectioner’s glaze, both of which may or may not be vegan (can come from plants or animals).

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment