Are Miss Vickie’s Chips Vegan? (All Main Flavors)


Long story short – The Original Miss Vickie’s flavor appears to be the only vegan flavor.

Note that I looked at the 6 main flavors, but there are some less common varieties that you see from time to time that may or may not be vegan as well.

If you’d like to know the non-vegan ingredients in the other flavors, read on.

Original Miss Vickie’s Ingredients

miss vickies sea salt original

The original flavor of Miss Vickie’s has a very short ingredient list:

  • Potatoes
  • Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, and/or Sunflower Oil)
  • Sea Salt.

Yep, that’s the full list.

All of those are clearly vegan ingredients, so the Original Miss Vickie’s are vegan.

Are Other Flavors of Miss Vickie’s Vegan?

Unfortunately, the ingredient list grows quite a bit larger for every other flavor of Miss Vickie’s, and they all include at least one non-vegan ingredient.

For example, here’s the ingredient list for the Sea Salt & Vinegar flavor:

  • Potatoes
  • Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, and/or Sunflower Oil)
  • Sea Salt & Vinegar Seasoning
    • Maltodextrin
    • Sea Salt
    • Vinegar
    • Buttermilk – A combination of butter and milk
    • Lactose – Derived from milk
    • Sugar
    • Dextrose
    • Yeast Extract
    • Citric Acid
    • Sunflower Oil

While the base ingredients are the same, the seasoning contains 2 different dairy products in buttermilk and lactose. Even though the rest of the ingredients appear vegan, these 2 are a problem.

No Other Flavor of Miss Vickie’s is Vegan

All the other main flavors have similar problem ingredients are all dairy byproducts like whey or buttermilk.

Flavor Non-Vegan Ingredients
Jalapeños Whey
Sea Salt & Vinegar Buttermilk, Lactose
Smokehouse BBQ Skim Milk, Buttermilk
Farmhouse White Cheddar Whey, Butter, Cheese
Sour Cream & Herbs Sour cream, Buttermilk, Whey

I don’t have much else to say about those. They’re all vegetarian, but clearly not vegan-friendly.

If you’re not familiar with it, whey is an ingredient derived from milk.

A Quick Note on Sugar

There’s sugar in the seasoning for all these flavors.

Some sugar in North America is filtered with bone char, and isn’t vegan. However, it’s a grey area and many vegans don’t worry too much about it.

Obviously these flavors all not vegan already due to the dairy, but I wanted to mention this issue just so you’re aware of it in the future when looking at other food products (typically junk food). 

Alternatives to Miss Vickie’s For Vegans

Again, Miss Vickie’s does launch other flavors from time to time, often for limited runs.

So if you see a different flavor in the store, it’s worth checking the ingredients list, but chances are it won’t be vegan.

On a related note, many Lay’s flavors are likely vegan, and there are typically several vegan chips in the “health” food aisle of most grocery stores (although much more expensive).

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. I've spent over 6 years as a freelance nutrition writer and researcher. During this time, I've tested over 50 vegan protein powders, and over 100 other types of vegan supplements.

Add comment