Are Nature’s Path Toaster Pastries (“Pop Tarts”) Vegan?

A

Unfortunately, it seems that no flavors of Nature’s Path toaster pastries are vegan.

While they sell some other products that happen to be vegan (like cereal), we’re out of luck here.

I went through the ingredients of all the flavors, and it’s clear that none of them are vegan-friendly.

Non-Vegan Ingredients in Nature’s Path Toaster Pastries

natures path toaster pastries box

There are 3 main potential issues in the ingredients:

  • Whey protein (in all frosted flavors) – Whey is derived from milk and is never vegan.
  • Honey – Another clearly non-vegan ingredient.
  • Palm oil – Technically vegan, but many vegans don’t eat palm oil, so it may be a problem for you.

Just to show that I’ve been thorough, here’s a list of all the flavors with the problem ingredients in each.

Flavor Non-Vegan Ingredients
Frosted Berry Strawberry Whey protein (milk), Palm oil, Honey
Frosted Cherry Pomegranate Whey protein (milk), Palm oil, Honey
Frosted Buncha Blueberries Whey protein (milk), Palm oil, Honey
Frosted Wildberry Acai Whey protein (milk), Palm oil, Honey
Frosted Mmmaple Brown Sugar Whey protein (milk), Palm oil, Honey
Frosted Granny’s Apple Pie Whey protein (milk), Palm oil, Honey
Frosted Lotta Chocolotta Whey protein (milk), Palm oil, Honey
Frosted Razzi Raspberry Whey protein (milk), Palm oil, Honey
Frosted Pumpkin Pie Whey protein (milk), Palm oil, Honey
Unfrosted Berry Strawberry Palm oil, Honey
Unfrosted Buncha Blueberries Palm oil, Honey
Unfrosted Granny’s Apple Pie Palm oil, Honey

If Nature’s Path releases a new flavor that happens to be vegan, I’ll try to keep this page updated. 

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment