Are Nutter Butters Vegan? (They Might Be…)


nutter butters

Nutter Butters are one of those snacks that some people say is vegan, and others say is not.

I’ll quickly lay out each side of the argument, and you can decide for yourself.

Ingredients in Nutter Butters

Here’s the full ingredient list, I’ve highlighted a few important ingredients:

Unbleached Enriched Flour, Sugar, Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Corn Syrup Solids, Hydrogenated Rapeseed And/Or Cottonseed And/Or Soybean Oils, Salt, Peanut Oil), Canola Oil, Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Palm Oil, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Salt, Leavening (Baking Soda And/Or Calcium Phosphate), Cornstarch, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Flavor.

Most of the ingredients are clearly vegan, but the 2 I highlighted are a little complicated.

Why Isn’t Sugar Always Vegan?

Sugar in the United States is a tough one for vegans.

A significant portion of sugar is made using bone char and isn’t vegan.

The problem is that when you just see “sugar” on the ingredient label, you can’t tell if it’s vegan or not.

You can contact the manufacturer sometimes and get clarification, but in this case, Nutter Butters are made by Mondelez International. I’ve emailed them many times, and they always reply that they can’t confirm or deny anything, as their suppliers change all the time.

Why Wouldn’t Palm Oil Be Vegan?

Palm oil comes from the palm plant, and has no animal products in it.

Yet, many vegans won’t eat it because the palm industry wrecks havoc on rainforests and has resulted in the near-extinction of multiple species of animals.

I’ve written a more detailed look at whether or not palm oil is vegan if you need more information.

My conclusion is that it’s “technically” vegan, but I still don’t eat it personally, and many other vegans don’t either.

Verdict: Are Nutter Butters Vegan or Not?

If you’re okay with palm oil, there’s a chance that Nutter Butters are vegan.

However, there’s no way of knowing for sure either way.

If you’re okay with taking the risk, go for it. Otherwise, be on the safe side and skip the Nutter Butters.

There are many vegan Nutter Butter recipes out there if you’d like to make your own.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment