Are Pillsbury Toaster Strudels Vegan?

A

Unfortunately, a quick look at the ingredients label reveals multiple ingredients that make toaster strudels NOT vegan-friendly.

They have a rather large list of ingredients, but here are the ingredients that a vegan might care about:

Palm oil, sugar, whey, mono and diglycerides, egg yolk

Whey is a derivative of milk and is never vegan, neither are egg yolks.

That alone means toaster strudels are not vegan.

The rest of those may or may not be vegan depending on your definition of veganism:

In summary, toaster strudels are clearly off the table for vegans.

But all hope is not lost! You can make vegan toaster strudels yourself?

Here’s a great recipe from The Skinny Chick’s Cookbook.

vegan toaster strudels

They’re much easier to make than you might think, so if you’re really missing toaster strudels, they’ll be worth the effort.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment