Are Red Vines Vegan? (Not For Strict Vegans)

A

I don’t write about every topic related to veganism, I just don’t have time.

But I kept seeing people claim (mainly on social media) that red vines were vegan.

That’s not entirely correct, so I’d like to make the potential issue very clear.

Potential Non-Vegan Red Vine Ingredients

original red vines

Here’s what you’ll find in the original red vines:

Corn syrup, Wheat flour, Molasses, Caramel coloring, Licorice extract, Citric acid, Artificial flavor, Anise flavor, Red 40

Both molasses and caramel coloring are usually vegan, although they are not always.

Everything else looks okay as well, except for “red 40.”

Red 40 is a popular artificial color that is often tested on animals.

Some vegans argue that it’s too hard to avoid, and that it’s a small amount, but in my eyes it’s still not vegan. This is a common vegan grey area that you’ll have to decide where you stand on.

I feel this way especially because alternatives do exist.

And Red Vines actually launched a new more “natural” product recently. Let’s look at that.

Are The All Natural Red Vines Vegan?

red vines made simple

These ones do not have red 40 in it.

Here’s the full ingredient list:

Cane Sugar, Wheat Flour, Radish Extract (Added for Color), Citric Acid, Natural Berry Flavor with Other Natural Flavors.

That’s looking much more like a vegan product to me.

There is a slight concern about “other natural flavors,” which technically could contain dairy. However, in a product like this, I’m not too worried about it.

The Red Vines Made Simple are almost certainly vegan-friendly.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment