Dark chocolate is usually vegan.
Milk chocolate is not.
Semi-sweet chocolate is somewhere in the middle. There are many brands that aren’t vegan, but some that are.
I’ll quickly walk you through your options if you’re looking for vegan semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Typical Ingredients In Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
Unfortunately, most of the biggest manufacturers do not make vegan semi-sweet chocolate chips.
So if you’re at a friend’s house and they offer you anything with them, declining is likely the right call.
For example, Nestle Toll House semi-sweet chocolate chips have the following ingredients:
Sugar, Chocolate, Milkfat, Cocoa Butter, Soy Lecithin, Natural Flavors.
Hershey’s has milk in their semi-sweet chocolate chips also.
Fair Trade Matters As Well
Another factor besides the milk is where the chocolate was obtained.
It’s fairly common knowledge these days that the chocolate industry is rife with child slavery.
Most of the “cheap” chocolate that you can buy comes from questionable sources.
That’s why vegans typically only buy fair-trade, sustainable chocolate.
Vegan Brands of Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
So while many popular brands are ruled out, vegans still have quite a few options.
There are several brands that make semi-sweet chocolate chips from fair trade chocolate and without animal ingredients.
Kirkland (i.e. Costco) sells them in large bags.
But if you don’t have a Costco membership, there are still many other options. For example:
- Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Vegan Chocolate Chips
- Equal Exchange Organic Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
You can see a more complete list of the best vegan chocolate chips brands here, most are semi-sweet.