Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan? (Don’t Be Fooled)

A

Every so often I see a post on social media or forum saying “Sour Patch Kids are vegan!”

But they’re wrong, and I hope you haven’t been misled by them.

Just because there’s no gelatin in a gummy candy, doesn’t mean it’s vegan.

Let’s take a look at the ingredients of Sour Patch Kids:

Sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, citric acid, tartaric acid, natural and artificial flavors, yellow 5, yellow 6, red 40, blue 1

All the main ingredients are plant-based, but what about those artificial flavors?

  • Red 40 comes from petroleum or coal
  • Blue 1, and yellow 5 & 6 comes from petroleum

Seems gross, but okay right?

Consider that all of these are extensively tested on animals (mainly mice and rats). These animals are treated poorly, and then killed after the testing is done.

To me, and many other ethical vegans, this makes these artificial colors clearly not vegan, which means Sour Patch Kids are not vegan.

As a side note, those ingredients are placed under restrictions and bans in certain European and Nordic countries because they’ve been linked to health issues like ADHD and cancer. Just something else you might want to be aware of.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment