Are Tostitos Vegan? These Flavors Are…

A

There are 3 main types of Tostitos: scoops, triangles, and rounds.

For each of these, there are multiple flavors, some of which are vegan, and some are not.

I went ahead and looked up all the ingredients in each variety to figure out which Tostitos flavors are and are not vegan.

Non-Vegan Ingredients in Tostitos

There are some obvious non-vegan ingredients in most of the varieties that aren’t vegan friendly, which are all dairy:

  • Whey
  • Sour cream
  • Buttermilk
  • Lactose

And a few variations of those.

Aside from that, the only other question mark is the sugar. Sugar is usually vegan, but sometimes isn’t because it’s processed with bone char (not actually in the final sugar though).

If you want to be safe, avoid the flavors with sugar as well (I’ll point them out below).

Tostitos Scoops

tostitos scoops

The basic scoops have a short and obviously vegan ingredient list:

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola and/or Sunflower Oil), and Salt.

There are 3 flavors in total of the “scoops” line:

Flavor Vegan? Notable Ingredients
Scoops (plain/original) Yes  
Multigrain Maybe Sugar
Baked Yes  

Avoid the multigrain scoops if you want to be on the safe side.

Tostitos Triangles

tostitos triangles

About half of the Tostitos Triangles varieties are clearly vegan:

Flavor Vegan? Notable Ingredients
Original Restaurant Style Yes  
Lightly Salted Yes  
Hint of Lime No Sour Cream, Whey
Hint of Jalapeno No Sour Cream, Whey
Roasted Red Pepper No Sour Cream, Whey, Milk protein concentrate, Lactose, Buttermilk
Black Bean & Garlic Maybe Sugar
Simply Organic Blue Corn Yes  
Cantina Thin & Crispy Yes  
Cantina Traditional Yes  

Tostitos Rounds

tostitos rounds

Finally, there are 4 varieties of Tostitos Rounds, with a fifty-fifty split between being vegan and not:

Flavor Vegan? Notable Ingredients
Bite Size Yes  
Crispy Rounds Yes  
Sabritas Salsa Verde No Whey
Salsa Ranchera No Natural Flavors (Contains Milk)

Summary: Which Tostitos Flavors Are Vegan?

The majority of Tostitos actually are vegan-friendly.

There are 2 that might or might not be vegan due to the sugar: Multigrain Scoops and Black Bean & Garlic Triangles. It’s up to you if you’d like to take that risk.

The only flavors that are clearly non-vegan are:

  • Hint of Lime
  • Hint of Jalapeno
  • Roasted Red Pepper
  • Sabritas Salsa Verde
  • Salsa Ranchera

As a final note, it’s possible that this changes over time, so double check the ingredients when you buy any.

I’ll try to check-in every 6 months or so and update this page if there are any changes.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment