Are Wheat Thins Vegan? (Most Flavors MIGHT Be)

A

Let me clarify that title.

Most wheat thin flavors have no obvious non-vegan ingredients, but do have one that may or may not be vegan.

So if you’re okay with taking a risk on it, then most wheat thins are still an option for you.

I’ve gone over which wheat thin flavors might be vegan in this post, and which ones are definitely not.

Which Wheat Thin Flavors Might Be Vegan?

wheat thins packaging

Take a look at the ingredients list for the original wheat thins:

Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Canola Oil, Sugar, Cornstarch, Malt Syrup (From Corn And Barley), Salt, Refiner’s Syrup, Leavening

Most of those are obviously vegan, except for one – sugar.

In North America, not all sugar is vegan.

Some of it is processed with bone char (from cow bones) and isn’t considered vegan by most. Large companies like Mondelez International (who ultimately own Wheat Thins) typically have multiple sugar suppliers.

There’s a good chance that at least one of those suppliers uses bone char.

Since all flavors of Wheat Thins contain sugar, my guess would be that none of them are truly vegan.

But I could be wrong, the sugar could be fine and they could be vegan. You need to choose for yourself if you’re willing to take the risk.

In the event that you are okay with that risk, you can choose from most Wheat Thin flavors:

Wheat Thin FlavorPotential Non-Vegan Ingredient(s)
OriginalSugar
Reduced fatSugar
Tomato and basilSugar
Hint of saltSugar
Cracked pepperSugar
Zesty SalsaSugar
Spicy BuffaloSugar
Sweet OnionSugar
MultigrainSugar
RanchSugar, Buttermilk, Cheese Powder, Whey, Sodium Caseinate
LimeSugar, Lactose, Sour Cream Powder, Nonfat Milk

Ranch and lime flavored Wheat Thins are obviously not vegan, but the rest only have sugar as a potential non-vegan ingredient.

Is There a Way to Find Out If The Sugar is Actually Vegan?

In most cases, you can just contact the manufacturer of a product and ask them.

Unfortunately, Mondelez is about as useless as can be when it comes to this, just like Nabisco is when asking them are Ritz crackers vegan.

I’ve contacted them on several occasions about their products and always get the same response with no answer:

…Unfortunately, this ingredient information is not currently available…

So in this case, there’s no way of knowing if the sugar is vegan or not, so it’s up to you if you’d like to take the risk.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment