Are Yam Sushi Rolls Vegan?

A

At first my girlfriend said I couldn’t go vegan because then we couldn’t go out for sushi (the horror).

Luckily, it turns out quite a few sushi rolls are in fact vegan friendly.

Many veggie rolls are vegan, however not all are, so be careful.

Yam Roll Ingredients

yam roll

Plain yam rolls are almost always vegan, there are some exceptions of course, but in general, they’re just made from:

  • Rice
  • Nori (seaweed)
  • Sweet potato (or yam)
  • Oil of some sort

Try to avoid the ones that have sauces added to them, whether inside or on top. These often have non-vegan ingredients.

What About Yam Tempura Rolls?

Tempura is tricky, because some places do make vegan tempura.

However, most tempura is not vegan. Typically, tempura batter is made of:

  • Flour
  • Cornstarch
  • Salt
  • Water
  • Egg

That’s why even if a tempura roll is marked “vegetarian,” it doesn’t automatically make it vegan.

Always ask, or just skip the tempura.

A Few Other Notes About Vegan Sushi

And while we’re on the topic, soy sauce is also vegan.

The one thing that isn’t always vegan is wasabi. Some wasabi has no animal ingredients, but others have lactose or egg whites. So if you want to be on the safe side, avoid it unless you can see the ingredients label.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment