CategoryFood

Why Beyond Burgers Cause Upset Stomach or Diarrhea

W

As a whole, vegans generally love Beyond Burgers. And while most people have no issues with them, I’ve been seeing more and more stories of people complaining about stomach issues after having a beyond burger. While I don’t have a definitive answer as to why, I do have a guess. Beyond Burger Ingredients Take a look at the ingredients list (I removed the vitamins and coloring ingredients):...

Is Pizza Dough Vegan? (Dominos, Pizza Hut, Papa John’s, etc.)

I

More pizza places are offering vegan cheeses (even vegan parmesan) and meat substitutes like Beyond Meat crumbles. Most pizza sauce is also vegan, although not all, so pizza bianca (no sauce) is also a safe option. But there’s one more thing to consider: The dough might not be vegan as well, since many pizza dough recipes have dairy and other animal products in them. I’ve tracked down...

Can You Substitute Almond Flour For Wheat Flour?

C

The short answer is that you can’t directly substitute almond flour for wheat flour in most recipes. However, you can adapt recipes fairly easily (essentially creating a new one) that uses almond flour instead of wheat. Note that this really only works in things like cookies and pancakes. You can’t make a nice fluffy bread with almond flour like you could with wheat. How To Substitute Almond...

The Best Vegan Heavy Cream Substitutes [Whipped Options]

T

Whether you’re vegan or just lactose intolerant, heavy cream might not be an option for your diet when cooking. However, like most ingredients, there are some close vegan alternatives, and you won’t taste the difference in most recipes. What Is The Vegan Substitute For Heavy Cream? There are now 2 popular store-bought heavy cream substitutes that are vegan: Silk’s Dairy -Free...

Is Red Bull Vegan? (Original and Other Flavors)

I

Verdict: The original Red Bull is vegan by most standards. Summary: There are no animal products in Red Bull (even the taurine is synthetic). There are artificial colors in Red Bull, which some vegans don’t consider vegan (a grey area). At first glance, a few ingredients in Red Bull seem like they might not be vegan. Same goes for Monster Energy drinks. If you’d like to know if you can...

Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan?

A

Verdict: Fruity Pebbles are not vegan. Summary: Fruity Pebbles have vitamin D3 from an animal source in them, which makes them not vegan. Fruity Pebbles also have ingredients that may or may not be vegan, like sugar and natural flavors. Additionally, they have other controversial ingredients like palm oil and artificial colors. There are no obvious animal products like dairy in fruity pebbles...

Vegan Luna Bars: Find Out Which Flavors Are Vegan

V

Luna bars are vegan, but all contain palm oil. However, Luna protein bars are not vegan as they contain whey. Luna bars are made by the same manufacturer of Clif Bars (and many Clif Bars are also vegan). While no Luna bar is certified vegan, certain flavors may be vegan (I’ll explain why shortly). Note that cross-contamination can occur, which is why all wrappers state: May contain peanuts, tree...

Are Mentos Vegan? (Mints & Gum)

A

Verdict: Most Mentos products are not vegan.. Summary: Some flavors of Mentos gum have gelatine (never vegan). Some flavors of Mentos mints have beeswax (not vegan). Mentos Hard Mints do appear to be vegan friendly. I’ve seen a lot of claims that Mentos gums and mints are vegan, and also some that say they aren’t. Very few had anything to back them up, and the ones that did were from nearly 10...

Are Nerds Vegan? (Some Flavors MIGHT Be)

A

Strict vegans won’t eat Nerds, but if you’re a little flexible on controversial areas, you might be okay with eating a few flavors still. We’ll go over the problem ingredients in each flavor, and I’ll summarize the potential issues for you. Then, you can decide for yourself whether or not you consider Nerds to be vegan-friendly. Ingredients in Nerds The ingredients in the 4 main flavors are all...

Is Sriracha Sauce Vegan?

I

Long story short, sriracha may or may not be vegan. It depends on how strict of a vegan you are. To understand why, we need to look at the ingredients in the original Huy Fong Sriracha sauce. Sriracha Sauce Ingredients Here are its the ingredients in the “real” Huy Fong sriracha: INGREDIENTS: Chili, sugar, garlic, salt, distilled vinegar, potassium sorbate, sodium bisulfite, and...