CategoryCandy

Are Twizzlers Vegan? [Probably Not…]

A

When I first went vegan, I heard that Twizzlers were vegan in a few different places. They don’t contain gelatin, like many other non-vegan candies, so I can see why someone might think that. However, there’s a very good chance that Twizzlers are not vegan-friendly. I’ll walk you through why I think this, and you can decide for yourself if you still want to eat them. Twizzler...

Are Swedish Fish Vegan?

A

Whether or not Swedish Fish are vegan depends on how strict of a vegan you are. It also depends on your location (I’ve heard some stories of Swedish Fish containing beeswax in some places), although that’s not an issue in North America. I’ll break down the ingredients that may not be vegan, and then you can decide for yourself. Swedish Fish Ingredients Here’s the typical...

Are Skittles Vegan? (Original, Sour, Tropical, etc.)

A

Some people say that Skittles are vegan. I’d argue that they’re misinformed. While there’s no obvious animal products like gelatin, there’s a handful of questionable ingredients in them. I’ll walk you through them, and then you can decide for yourself whether or not you think they’re vegan. Are Original Skittles Vegan? As a side note before continuing, Skittles are not kosher certified (being...

Are Milk Duds Vegan? (Here are the Ingredients)

A

Milk Duds are not anywhere close to being vegan. That probably should have been clear by the “milk” in the name. Looking at the ingredient list of Milk Duds and there are many ingredients from animal sources: Corn syrup, Sugar, Vegetable oil (includes Palm oil), Dextrose, Nonfat milk, Whey, Chocolate, Brown sugar, Mono and Diglycerides, Baking Soda, Confectioner’s Glaze, Salt, Dextrin I...

Are Gobstoppers Vegan? (Not In My Book…)

A

I’ve seen several claims that Gobstoppers are vegan. Many sites say they are, along with other candy with similar ingredients, without presenting the whole story. In reality, strict vegans will not consider Gobstoppers to be vegan. Ingredients in Gobstoppers To explain why I don’t consider them to be vegan-friendly, let’s take a look at the ingredients list: Dextrose, Maltodextrin, and...

The Best Vegan Sour Gummy Worms and Treats

T

Vegan sour candy isn’t exactly a huge market right now, so it’s not surprising that there aren’t many options. So far, after quite a bit of searching, I found 2 options. If you happen to stumble upon another at some point, please let me know and I’ll add it to the page. 1. Surf Sweets Sour Gummy Worms This is the best option if it’s at all possible for you. Surf Sweets is a vegan...

Are Red Vines Vegan? (Not For Strict Vegans)

A

I don’t write about every topic related to veganism, I just don’t have time. But I kept seeing people claim (mainly on social media) that red vines were vegan. That’s not entirely correct, so I’d like to make the potential issue very clear. The Issue With Most Red Vine Flavors For Vegans Here’s what you’ll find in the original red vines: Corn syrup, Wheat flour, Molasses, Caramel coloring...

The Best Vegan Candy for Christmas

T

Christmas is not complete without candy. Unfortunately, a lot of traditional candy is out. That includes most convenient treats that have a festive flair (Skittles are probably not vegan as an example). But all is not lost. There’s still some vegan candy that’s perfect for Christmas, and it’s getting better year-by-year. (Same goes for vegan Halloween candy) Here are some of the best options...

Vegan Halloween Candy: Bars and Treats You Give Out

V

This will be the first year that I “have” to give out Halloween candy. I looked for a comprehensive list of vegan Halloween candy, but couldn’t find it. So I made my own. I’ll start with the candy that definitely is vegan, but I’ve also gone over candy that might not be, or definitely isn’t. Halloween Candy That IS Vegan Every candy in the list below in this section is clearly vegan...

Are Nerds Vegan? Some Flavors MIGHT Be…

A

Strict vegans won’t eat Nerds, but if you’re a little flexible on controversial areas, you might be okay with eating a few flavors still. We’ll go over the problem ingredients in each flavor, and I’ll summarize the potential issues for you. Then, you can decide for yourself whether or not you consider Nerds to be vegan-friendly. Ingredients in Nerds The ingredients in the 4 main flavors are all...