CategoryCandy

The Best Vegan Sour Gummy Worms and Treats

T

Vegan sour candy isn’t exactly a huge market right now, so it’s not surprising that there aren’t many options. So far, after quite a bit of searching, I found 2 options. If you happen to stumble upon another at some point, please let me know and I’ll add it to the page. 1. Surf Sweets Sour Gummy Worms This is the best option if it’s at all possible for you. Surf Sweets is a vegan...

Are Red Vines Vegan? (Not For Strict Vegans)

A

I don’t write about every topic related to veganism, I just don’t have time. But I kept seeing people claim (mainly on social media) that red vines were vegan. That’s not entirely correct, so I’d like to make the potential issue very clear. Potential Non-Vegan Red Vine Ingredients Here’s what you’ll find in the original red vines: Corn syrup, Wheat flour, Molasses, Caramel coloring, Licorice...

The Best Vegan Candy for Christmas

T

Christmas is not complete without candy. Unfortunately, a lot of traditional candy is out. That includes most convenient treats that have a festive flair (Skittles are probably not vegan as an example). But all is not lost. There’s still some vegan candy that’s perfect for Christmas, and it’s getting better year-by-year. (Same goes for vegan Halloween candy) Here are some of the best options...

Vegan Halloween Candy: Bars and Treats You Give Out

V

This will be the first year that I “have” to give out Halloween candy. I looked for a comprehensive list of vegan Halloween candy, but couldn’t find it. So I made my own. I’ll start with the candy that definitely is vegan, but I’ve also gone over candy that might not be, or definitely isn’t. Halloween Candy That IS Vegan Every candy in the list below in this section is clearly vegan...

Are Snickers Vegan or Vegetarian?

A

Sorry to disappoint my fellow vegans, but Snickers are clearly not vegan-friendly. They have multiple animal products in them, so there’s no debate (unlike some candy like skittles). On a related note, Snicker bars might be vegetarian depending on your diet and how you view palm oil. Are Snickers Vegetarian? Here’s what you’ll find in the original Snickers: Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa...

Are Junior Mints Vegan? (Maybe, but Probably Not…)

A

Can you still eat Junior Mints after going vegan? It depends on how strict of a vegan you want to be, and what risks you’re willing to take. Let me quickly explain why Tootsie’s chocolate-covered candy probably isn’t vegan, but there’s a chance that it is. Ingredients in Junior Mints There are 2 potential issues from the ingredients list: Sugar, Semi-Sweet Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate Processed...

Is Glee Gum Vegan? Got Some Bad News For You…

I

You’ll find Glee gum in many health food stores. And while it’s more “natural” and environmentally friendly than most other gums, Glee Gum is unfortunately not vegan. In fact, all flavors of Glee Gum have 2 main non-vegan ingredients. If you’re looking for better alternatives, take a look at my rankings of the best vegan gum brands. What’s in Glee Gum? Glee Gum does a lot of things...

Vegan Gum Brands: The 4 Best That I’ve Tried

V

There’s a handful of common ingredients in the gum you usually buy that may or may not be vegan. Glycerin, gum base, natural flavors, even sugar aren’t always vegan friendly. Those are all common ingredients in popular gums that you find in grocery stores, and there’s no way of knowing for sure from the label if those gums are vegan or not. Personally, I prefer to buy gum that...

Is Dubble Bubble Vegan?

I

Is your childhood bubblegum vegan? Let’s find out together. We’ll take a look at the ingredients list and look for any non-vegan ingredients. Ingredients in Dubble Bubble Here’s what you’ll find in Dubble Bubble: Sorbitol, Gum Base, Glycerol, Artificial Flavor, Sunflower Lecithin, Mannitol, Aspartame, Acesulfame Potassium, Carnauba Wax, Artificial Color (FD&C Red 3), BHA (to...

Is Dentyne Gum Vegan?

I

Some big gum brands are accidentally vegan. I wanted to know if Dentyne was one of them, so I looked up the ingredients to all of their gums. I compiled the relevant results on this page to save you some time. Which Dentyne Flavors Are Vegan? Let’s start by looking at the typical ingredients in Dentyne (this is for spicy cinnamon): Sorbitol, Gum base, Maltitol, Natural and artificial flavor...