CategoryCooking

Is Caramel Color Vegan? (Don’t Confuse it With “Caramel”)

I

Long story short: It’s probably safe to assume caramel color is vegan, but it’s possible that it’s not. You’ll find it mainly in drinks like soda, but also in a variety of foods. Whether or not it’s vegan depends on what sweetener it was made from. Read on to learn why. How is Caramel Color Made? Caramel color is made by heating carbohydrates (i.e. sugar), which is the caramelization...

Can Ground Flax Go Bad?

C

As I’ve recently experienced first hand, yes it can. But it’s not always easy to notice. Because you’re likely only eating a tablespoon or two at a time, eating rancid flax typically won’t cause more than mild stomach issues. How to Tell If Ground Flax is Expired There are really only 2 ways to tell if it’s gone bad: Smell – This is the most reliable way. If it smells weird (almost...

The Best Lettuce for Lettuce Wraps That Doesn’t Fall Apart

T

Lettuce wraps are a savior if you still want to eat burgers and wraps while watching your calories. They don’t work as well as bread does, but some types of lettuce are better than others. After eating dozens of wraps over the years, and trying many types of lettuce, here are my top 4 from best to worst. 1. Butter Lettuce It’s not always easy to find, but if you have access to butter lettuce...

The 5 Best Vegan Alternatives to Heavy Cream

T

Heavy cream might not be an option for vegans, but there are quite a few decent substitutes if you’re trying to veganize a recipe. They focus on 3 main types of ingredients: Coconut Soy Nuts Not surprisingly, these are also the main types of non-dairy milks. 1. Mix Soy Milk With Olive Oil Heavy cream is made from milk and butter, and non-dairy milk is already comparable to dairy milk...

The Best Vegan Alternatives for Eggs (For Breakfast, Baking, and Binding)

T

Before going vegan, I ate eggs every day for years. So I had a big hole to fill after making the switch. Luckily, it’s not hard to substitute for eggs in baking with vegan alternatives, and there are even some plant-based egg recipes that come close to the original. The Best Direct Vegan Egg Substitutes for Cooking and Baking I’ll break down all your alternatives, but keep in mind that the best...

Substituting Eggs in Cake Mix (The Vegan Way)

S

One thing vegans have gotten really good at is finding creative ways to go without common baking ingredients like eggs and milk products. It turns out that while you won’t find a perfect match for eggs, there are a few ways to substitute eggs in a cake mix that will still get you a reasonably fluffy result. Let’s go through them, one-by-one: Vinegar and baking soda: The classic volcano reaction...

Can You Get Food Poisoning From Tofu?

C

The short answer is yes, you can get food poisoning from tofu. But the real question is it likely? And is there a way to prevent it? A Quick Summary of Food Poisoning Food poisoning comes from eating either spoiled or contaminated food. It can be caused by bacteria, viruses, or parasites. The consequences, of course, are vomiting, nausea, and a host of other...

3 Vegan Alternatives to Oyster Sauce (That Still Taste Great)

3

Oyster sauce is a popular ingredient in a lot of Asian dishes that obviously isn’t vegan. When it comes to substituting oyster sauce, we don’t have a ton of options. But there are 3. 1. Mushroom-Based Soy Sauce For whatever reason, soy sauce with mushroom flavoring comes closest to oyster sauce in terms of texture and taste. You’ll typically find it in Asian grocery stores called either “Mushroom...

What’s the Best Vegan Egg Substitute for Breading?

W

Just because you’re vegan doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy many of the same breaded foods you did before. None of these are perfect substitutes for eggs in breading, but most do a pretty good job. Some people actually prefer them. There are 4 main ways to substitute eggs in breading: Make a “flax egg” – This is the best option. Mix 1 tbsp of ground flax with 2 tbsp of water. Mix it and let it...

The 3 Best Agar Agar Substitutes

T

Agar agar is a gelling agent derived from red algae, used mainly in vegan recipes to replace gelatin. It’s fairly easy to find now, but if you don’t have it on hand for a recipe, there are a few alternatives. The 3 Closest Plant-Based Substitutes for Agar Agar You can substitute any of the following ingredients in a 1:1 ratio (e.g. 1 tbsp of either gum for 1 tbsp of agar agar):...