CategoryGrocery

Are Cocoa Puffs Vegan?

A

The short answer is that it depends on how strict a vegan you are. Technically, Cocoa Puffs are not vegan. If you’d like to know why, read on. Ingredients in Cocoa Puffs There are 2 potential non-vegan ingredients when you look at the ingredients in Cocoa Puffs: Whole grain corn, sugar, corn meal, corn syrup, cocoa processed with alkali, canola oil, fructose, salt, caramel color...

Sodium Caseinate is NOT Vegan (Similar to Whey)

S

It’s pretty obvious that sodium caseinate is not vegan-friendly when you hear its other name – milk powder. On ingredients list, milk powder is the more common term, but sodium caseinate is sometimes listed. It’s often used in powdered coffee mixes, lactose-free milks, and even in the cream versions of instant oatmeal. If you buy coffee (and related products), you need to be read...

Is White or Brown Sugar Really Vegan? (What About Bone Char?)

I

Plain sugar obviously doesn’t have any animal product in it, yet still might not be vegan. That’s because bone char is often used during the refining process. Maybe you’ve heard this, but want the full story, and that’s what I’m here for. I’ve done the research so you don’t have to. This post will walk you through the facts so that you can make your own decision about whether or...

The Complete Vegan Guide to Whole Foods Market

T

Warning: Super long post. I went vegan cold turkey one night and I was faced with a difficult question: “What am I supposed to eat now?” I was used to a typical North American diet, so I was out of my comfort zone. My gut told me: Go to Whole Foods. I had no clue what to buy, so I aimlessly wandered around and eventually picked out a few things. This guide is my attempt to...

Is White Bread Vegan?

I

White bread seems like it could be vegan. Flour, water, yeast, salt…what else do you need? While you can make bread with just those ingredients, most white bread is not vegan. The most common non-vegan ingredients are: dried milk powder or milk butter eggs lecithin (the non-plant kind) Mono- and di-glycerides While some brands of white bread in stores are vegan, most are not. Classic White...

The Simplest Vegan Meal Prep Shopping List

T

If you’re just getting started with vegan meal prep, it’s best to keep things simple. You want to focus on flexible ingredients that go well with most other vegan foods and reheat well. This lets you cook a big batch of each individual ingredient, and then toss them all together. For each meal, you generally want to aim to have a vegan protein source, vegetables (a mix), a grain. Here are the...

Vegan Clif Bars: Find Out Which Flavors Are Vegan

V

I’ve been a big fan of Clif Bars for a while. They’re not super healthy, but they have a decent amount of protein, and taste great. Many types of Clif Bars happen to be vegan-friendly, and they’re easy to find in stores and on sites like Amazon and Billion Vegans. There are 5 main types of Clif Bars, all with different core ingredients, so I’ve divided this guide into 5...

The Best Vegan Alternatives to Sour Cream

T

Whether you typically use sour cream when baking, or add it to soups and potatoes, you have a few options as a vegan. Sour cream is made using cream (dairy) with lactic acid. Since lactic acid can be obtained from non-animal sources, we can made plant-based sour creams that do a decent job replicating the traditional one. I’ve divided your main options into 2 main categories: Store-bought and...

The Best Lettuce for Lettuce Wraps That Doesn’t Fall Apart

T

Lettuce wraps are a savior if you still want to eat burgers and wraps while watching your calories. They don’t work as well as bread does, but some types of lettuce are better than others. After eating dozens of wraps over the years, and trying many types of lettuce, here are my top 4 from best to worst. 1. Butter Lettuce It’s not always easy to find, but if you have access to butter lettuce...

Is Wrigley’s “5 Gum” Vegan?

I

Many common gums aren’t vegan. But what about 5 Gum (or 5Gum)? Well it partly depends on your personal definition of veganism, because there are 2 potential issues in most flavors of 5 Gum. Let’s start by looking at the ingredients of 5 Gum. Ingredients of 5 Gum There are 5 main flavors currently. They all have similar base ingredients, but have slightly different coloring additives. Here are the...