CategoryGrocery

Are ‘Natural Flavors’ Vegan?

A

You see them on many ingredients lists: “Natural Flavors” This is a catch-all term for many ingredients that are added for flavoring purposes. Some of those flavors come from vegan sources, and some do not. So this puts us in a bind. It’s not safe in most cases to assume that natural flavors are vegan-friendly. In the United States (and similar in most other places), the FDA says this about...

Are English Muffins Vegan? (Many Are Not, Here’s Why…)

A

They look like simple pieces of bread, but for some reason, most English Muffins are not vegan. Take one of the most popular brands, Bays, and let’s look at the ingredients in their sourdough English muffins:  Bleached Wheat Flour, Water…Dry Whole Milk, Butter, Lactic Acid These are typical ingredients. Almost every brand you’ll find in most stores has some form of milk...

The 3 Best Vegan Alternatives to Butter

T

There are some foods that vegans need to go without a good alternative to, but butter is not one of them. I literally can’t tell the difference between a good vegan butter and dairy butter that I had in the past. I’ll go through all the best vegan butter alternatives in this post, from best to worst. The Best Alternative: Store-Bought Vegan Butters or Make Your Own When I first went vegan, I...

Is Nutritional Yeast Bad For You?

I

The quick answer is that: No, nutritional yeast is not bad for you. In fact, it’s quite healthy, especially if you’re a vegan. It has loads of pretty much all B-Vitamins: thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, B6, folate, and B12. It’s one of the best food sources of B12 for vegans. If you’re not going to use a vitamin B12 supplement as a vegan, you should be eating nutritional...

Do Dry Beans Go Bad?

D

Short answer: Yes, dry beans go bad, it just takes a long time. Longer answer…If you’re storing beans in a reasonable location (dry, sealed off), dry beans are unlikely to get moldy, even after years. It is possible, so check for any weird looking beans before cooking them. The issue is that over time, dried beans become harder to cook. The older dry beans are, the longer they take to...

Is Smart Balance Butter Vegan?

I

All Smart Balance butter spreads are now dairy-free. That’s a step in the right direction, but it doesn’t necessarily make them vegan. There are a few flavors that are vegan, and a few that aren’t. We’ve got a few things to look at here, let’s get started. Why Some Smart Balance Spreads Might Not Be Vegan There are a few ingredients that might cause you some concern...

Are Raw Cashews Poisonous?

A

At one point I read that raw cashews were poisonous and rightfully got concerned about it. After all, I’ve been eating “raw” cashews for years. Turns out that the cashews you buy from stores aren’t actually raw. They are not poisonous in any way. The source of this confusion is that raw cashew plants have an outer shell (called a cashew apple) that is actually poisonous...

Can Vegans Eat Peanut Butter?

C

“Real” peanut butter literally only consists of peanuts ground up, maybe with a little salt added. That type of peanut butter is always vegan-friendly. When it comes to the cheaper peanut butters with other added ingredients that you find in grocery stores, most are vegan, but some aren’t. Let’s go through an example to root out trouble ingredients to look out for...

Are Fruit Loops Vegan?

A

For most vegans, Fruit (“Froot”) Loops are not considered vegan. However, depending on your exact definition of veganism, you might be okay with eating them. Let me explain after we take a look at the ingredients (also note that these may vary by country): Sugar, corn flour blend (whole grain yellow corn flour, degerminated yellow corn flour), wheat flour, whole grain oat flour, oat...

Is Kellogg’s Raisin Bran Cereal Vegan?

I

A lot of cereals happen to be vegan, but I’m not convinced that Raisin Bran is. Depending on how strict a vegan you are, you may or may not consider Raisin Bran to be vegan-friendly. I’ll explain why after a quick look at the ingredients list. Kellogg’s Raisin Bran Cereal Here’s what you’ll find in raisin bran: Whole grain wheat, raisins, wheat bran, sugar, brown...