CategoryIngredients

Is Lecithin Vegan? (Soy, Sunflower, etc.)

I

Verdict: Some lecithin is vegan, and some is not. Summary: Lecithin describes a type of fatty substance, and it can come from both plant and animal sources. It’s used for baking (in powdered form) and as a health supplement. While lecithin typically comes from plants these days, it’s often packaged together with animal products like gelatin in capsules. Most powdered lecithin is vegan...

Is Cream of Tartar Vegan? – Yes, Here’s Why…

I

Cream of tartar’s real name is potassium bitartrate. You’ll find it in grocery stores in the baking aisle or by the spices. It’s a byproduct of winemaking, used as a stabilizer in baking, most commonly when whipping up heavy cream or an alternative. You might be worried that it comes from the winemaking process, because not all wine is vegan, but I’ll walk you through why...

2 Vegan Alternatives to Shrimp Paste

2

It’s difficult to find vegan substitutes for uncommon ingredients like shrimp paste. That leaves you with using alternative ingredients that are “close enough” to the taste and texture of it. There are 2 vegan pastes that have a similar flavor profile and texture. They won’t be perfect, but should do in a pinch (especially since shrimp paste isn’t usually too crucial of an ingredient). 1. Miso...

Vegan Alternatives to Ghee

V

I’ve yet to see a “vegan ghee” sold in stores. That means that you’ll be left either making your own, or using a substitute. I’ll go over the most common options. 1. Vegan Butter Regular ghee is literally just clarified dairy butter. There’s a reason that cooks use ghee instead of regular butter in the first place, but still, butter is an okay substitute if needed. There are plenty...

Is Natural Butter Flavor Vegan? (Does It Have Dairy)

I

You’ll see natural butter flavor mostly in baked goods like muffins and cakes. Considering it’s supposed to be used when butter isn’t an option, that suggests that it might be vegan-friendly. Ingredients in Natural Butter Flavor While it depends on the brand, most natural butter flavor seems to contain: Alcohol, water & natural flavors For example, this butter extract on Amazon is...

Is Lactase Enzyme Vegan?

I

You’ll find lactase in medicine, multivitamins, and certain types of food. It’s a pretty common instinct to think that it’s not vegan, because it sounds like lactose, and we associate lactose with milk. However, most lactase is indeed vegan; let me explain. Lactase and Lactose Both these compounds are related. Lactose is a sugar that comes from dairy, it is indeed not vegan...

Is Fondant Icing Vegan?

I

Fondant has a fairly short ingredients list: Sugar Water Gelatin Vegetable fat or shortening Glycerol Gelatin is never vegan. On top of that, shortening isn’t always vegan, and glycerol may or may not be vegan. So that’s a whole lot of reasons that let us conclude that fondant icing typically isn’t vegan. Vegan Alternatives to Fondant Icing Unfortunately, there’s almost a 0% chance...

Is Shortening Vegan? (Vegetable or Otherwise)

I

Verdict: Shortening made from dairy is not vegan. Vegetable shortening may be vegan, but isn’t always. Summary: Vegetable shortening contains fats from plant sources, but sometimes mono- and diglycerides as well, which can come from plant or animal sources. Vegetable shortening is often made from palm oil, which many strict vegans don’t consider vegan. There are all sorts of...

The 3 Best Vegan Alternatives to Worcestershire Sauce

T

I’ve only accidently bought one non-vegan product since going vegan over 2 years ago now – worcestershire sauce. I didn’t look at the ingredients close enough and missed the anchovies. Since then I’ve learned that anchovies are a staple ingredient in most worcestershire sauces. However, there are alternatives for us vegans. Some are store-bought, look for worcestershire sauce...

Are the Enzymes in Bread Vegan?

A

Look at the ingredients label for most commercial breads and you’ll see it… Enzymes. Enzymes can be derived from either plant or animal sources. If you want to be 100% sure that a particular bread is vegan, you’ll have to contact the manufacturer. However, in the case of bread, I think most vegans will find it acceptable to assume that the enzymes are vegan. The Majority of Enzymes in...