CategoryPackaged foods

Is Cotton Candy Typically Vegan?

I

Cotton candy is typically made of 2-3 ingredients: Sugar Flavors (natural or artificial) Artificial colors Figuring out whether or not it’s vegan comes down to how strict of a vegan you are. I’ll need to go over each of them to explain why you might or might not consider cotton candy to be vegan. Why Sugar in Cotton Candy Might Not Be Vegan Some sugar is processed with bone char and is not...

Are Nutter Butters Vegan? (They Might Be…)

A

Nutter Butters are one of those snacks that some people say is vegan, and others say is not. I’ll quickly lay out each side of the argument, and you can decide for yourself. Ingredients in Nutter Butters Here’s the full ingredient list, I’ve highlighted a few important ingredients: Unbleached Enriched Flour, Sugar, Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Corn Syrup Solids, Hydrogenated Rapeseed And/Or Cottonseed...

A List of Vegan Country Crock Butters

A

Most of Country Crock’s products might look vegan at first, but actually aren’t. There’s a good chance that they all will be sometime in the future, it seems that Country Crock keeps moving towards plant-based ingredients. I’ll go over which ones are vegan here, and why. Country Crock Plant Butter is Vegan (For Some) Country Crock launched a line of “plant butters” that is dairy-free and gluten...

Are Wheat Thins Vegan? (Spoiler: Most Flavors MIGHT Be)

A

Let me clarify that title. Most wheat thin flavors have no obvious non-vegan ingredients, but do have one that may or may not be vegan. So if you’re okay with taking a risk on it, then most wheat thins are still an option for you. I’ve gone over which wheat thin flavors might be vegan in this post, and which ones are definitely not. Which Wheat Thin Flavors Might Be Vegan? Take a look at the...

Are Ritz Crackers Vegan?

A

Many crackers turn out to be accidentally vegan. So let’s put Ritz Crackers to the test. Ingredients in Ritz Crackers I just looked at the original crackers here, but all the other varieties are similar. Here’s what’s in Ritz, I’ve highlighted a few ingredients of interest: Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Soybean Oil...

Vegan Food at Walmart: The Complete Guide

V

When I first went vegan, the only place you could easily find vegan specialty foods was Whole Foods Market. Since then, other stores have caught up quickly, including Walmart, which has a large selection of foods for vegans. This guide has all the food from Walmart that a vegan might be interested in, aside from the most obvious ones (e.g. fruits and vegetables). You won’t find...

Can You Eat a Beyond Burger Raw or Undercooked?

C

Even though there’s no meat in it, you should not eat a Beyond Burger raw. It’ll be edible, but it’ll taste gross and you might not feel great after. But the burgers often look raw inside when the outsides seem cooked. Beyond Burgers Should Be a Bit Pink On the Inside When Cooked If you cook a Beyond Burger properly, it will look undercooked, but won’t be. On their website, it even...

Why Do Beyond Burgers Give Me An Upset Stomach (Or Even Diarrhea)?

W

I’ve been seeing more and more stories of people complaining about stomach issues after having a beyond burger. While I don’t have a definitive answer as to why, I do have a guess. Take a look at the ingredients list (I removed the vitamins and coloring ingredients): water, pea protein isolate, expeller-pressed canola oil, refined coconut oil, rice protein, mung bean protein, natural...

The Complete List of Vegan Cereals With Vitamin B12

T

I spent a few hours looking for vegan cereals with vitamin B12 in them. Unfortunately, there aren’t too many options. And if you don’t like the options, you’re stuck with vegan vitamin B12 supplements for now. Anyways, I’ve divided the cereals into 2 lists: Clearly vegan cereals – I’m very confident these are vegan Maybe vegan cereals – These contain some...

Are Frosted Flakes Vegan? (Maybe, It Depends on You…)

A

They’re gr-r-reat! But they may not be vegan. I say “may” because Frosted Flakes has a few ingredients that strict vegans avoid, but some vegans are okay with. I’ll lay out the arguments for and against them, and you’ll have to decide for yourself. Frosted Flake Ingredients Here’s what you’ll find in Frosted Flakes: Milled corn, sugar, malt flavor, iron, niacinamide, vitamin B6, vitamin B2...