CategoryFood

Is Special K Cereal Vegan? (It Depends on How Strict You Are)

I

Certain flavors of Special K cereal are clearly not vegan. But, some flavors might be, depending on how you feel about a few controversial ingredients. I’ll break down those ingredients quickly, and then go through each flavor so that you’ll be able to decide if you’re okay with eating any of them. Potential Non-Vegan Ingredients in Special K Cereal In some varieties, there...

Are KIND Granola Bars and Products Vegan? (Complete List)

A

KIND bars are super popular these days, you can find them at most grocery stores, and even at Costco. Unfortunately, most of them aren’t vegan-friendly. The most common reason why is that most bars have honey, and certain bars have milk and other animal products in them. But there are still a few KIND products you can buy if you really love the brand. I’ll go through each type of KIND...

Which Kashi Cereals Are Vegan? Here’s the Full List…

W

Kashi makes several cereals, and the majority (but not all) of them are vegan. We’ll go through each one and look at if it’s vegan or not. Non-Vegan Ingredients to Look Out For Unlike some cereals where we can’t be entirely sure if all ingredients are vegan or not, Kashi makes it easy to tell. On their website, vegan cereals are labelled vegan. Ingredients like glycerin, which can come from...

Are Pop Tarts Vegan? (These Flavors Might Be…)

A

The bad news is that most Pop Tarts are not vegan, not even close. However, there are a few that might be depending on how “strict” of a vegan you are, and your opinions on controversial ingredients. I’ll quickly go over all the flavors that are not vegan, and then the ones that might be. These Pop Tart Flavors Are Clearly NOT Vegan All of these flavors contain at least one of...

Nature Valley Granola Bars: Which Ones Are Vegan?

N

Anything “natural” typically has a good chance of being vegan. Some Nature Valley granola bars are clearly not vegan, but some might be depending on how strict your definition of veganism is. I’ll go over the potential problem ingredients in each flavor of the popular “crunchy” bar line, and you can decide for yourself. Non-Vegan Ingredients in Nature Valley Granola Bars Before we get...

Vegan Luna Bars: Find Out Which Flavors Are Vegan

V

Luna bars are made by the same manufacturer of Clif Bars (many of which are also vegan). While no Luna bar is certified vegan, certain flavors may be vegan (I’ll explain why shortly). Note that cross-contamination can occur, which is why all wrappers state: May contain peanuts, tree nuts, and milk Not a big deal to most vegans, but if you have allergies you might want to pass on them. I’m going...

The Best Vegan Candy for Christmas

T

Christmas is not complete without candy. Unfortunately, a lot of traditional candy is out. That includes most convenient treats that have a festive flair (Skittles are probably not vegan as an example). But all is not lost. There’s still some vegan candy that’s perfect for Christmas, and it’s getting better year-by-year. Here are some of the best options I’ve come across. Wholesome Organic’s...

Vegan Halloween Candy: What Bars and Treats Can You Give Out?

V

This will be the first year that I “have” to give out Halloween candy. I looked for a comprehensive list of vegan Halloween candy, but couldn’t find it. So I made my own. I’ll start with the candy that definitely is vegan, but I’ve also gone over candy that might not be, or definitely isn’t. Halloween Candy That IS Vegan Every candy in the list below in this section is clearly vegan...

Are Nerds Vegan? Some Flavors MIGHT Be…

A

Strict vegans won’t eat Nerds, but if you’re a little flexible on controversial areas, you might be okay with eating a few flavors still. We’ll go over the problem ingredients in each flavor, and I’ll summarize the potential issues for you. Then, you can decide for yourself whether or not you consider Nerds to be vegan-friendly. Ingredients in Nerds The ingredients in the 4 main flavors are all...

Are Snickers Vegan or Vegetarian?

A

Sorry to disappoint my fellow vegans, but Snickers are clearly not vegan-friendly. They have multiple animal products in them, so there’s no debate (unlike some candy like skittles). On a related note, Snicker bars might be vegetarian depending on your diet and how you view palm oil. Are Snickers Vegetarian? Here’s what you’ll find in the original Snickers: Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa...