CategoryHealth

Vegetarian vs. Vegan vs. Pescetarian [Differences and Health Effects]

V

Maybe you want to reduce your environmental impact. Maybe you’re trying to be healthier. Or maybe you have ethical concerns about eating meat. These 3 diets may all be options for you. But which one is best for you? I’ve created a detailed, but simple comparison of these diets on this page. By the end, you should have a clear idea of the positives and negatives of each diet and which one is most...

Is Crest Toothpaste Vegan? (Are the Pork Claims True?)

I

Go on certain forums, and you’ll see claims that Crest contains pork, and isn’t vegan. So I wanted to find out once and for all. I examined all the ingredients in various Crest toothpastes (we’ll go over them in a bit), and I had 3 main concerns: Gelatin – Gelatin can come from animal sources (like pork) or from plant sources. Only Crest would know. “Color” – Is included in multiple...

Vegan Sore Throat Lozenges and Cough Drops Options

V

A little while back I had a bad cold and I was in desperate need of throat lozenges. But when I went to a local pharmacy, I found out that many popular cough drops are not vegan. As a result, I’ve put together this page to help you quickly find a vegan option so that you don’t have to waste time reading the ingredients in a store. Common Non-Vegan Ingredients to Watch Out for In Throat Lozenges...

The Complete Guide to Vegan Cough Medicine

T

Note: Most medications are not strictly vegan. But some are closer than others. And even strict vegans often use cough medicine, which I’ll explain in more detail shortly. Why Wouldn’t Cough Medicine Be Vegan? There are 4 main issues that can cause a particular cough medicine to not be vegan friendly. Some of these are a bit controversial: Animal testing – Just about all medicine is...

Seitan Amino Acid Profile (Is It a Complete Protein?)

S

Seitan is a savior for vegan athletes and bodybuilders. It’s got similar macros to vegan protein powder, and yet tastes really good and can be added to many recipes. If this isn’t the first page you’ve gone to looking for seitan’s amino acid profile, it’s because there isn’t a single profile. The term “seitan” is the name of the meal, not a particular ingredient. It’s main ingredient is vital...

Tempeh vs Seitan vs Tofu: Comparing Taste and Nutrition [Data]

T

Whether you’re vegan or just looking to eat more plant-based foods, tempeh, seitan, and tofu are among the best plant-based sources of protein. This post will look at 2 main things: taste and nutrition (mainly protein content and quality). Obviously taste is subjective, but I’ll go over the texture to expect, and which recipes each work best in. For the nutrition, we’ll compare some actual...

Lentils vs Black Beans: Nutritional Value and Protein

L

There are many reasons you might want to compare lentils to black beans. So I did them all. Somewhere on this page you should be able to find the difference between the 2 legumes that you’re looking for. Whether it’s protein content, amino acid distribution, or nutritional value. Macro Comparison: Lentils vs Black Beans Let’s look at a high level breakdown for each legume. The nutritional...

Essential Amino Acid Profiles for All Nuts [Data]

E

Nuts are one of the best bulking foods due to their high caloric content. They’re also a decent protein source when it comes to snacks. While you want to be mindful of the omega 3 to 6 fat ratio of nuts, you also want to make sure you’re eating other protein sources that compensate for any low amounts of individual amino acids in nuts. As long as you’re eating the complementary...

The Omega 3 to 6 Fat Ratio of Common Nuts [Data]

T

Nuts are said to be a good source of protein and fats, but there’s that pesky issue of having a ton of omega 6 fats, and not many omega 3 fats. If you’re reading this, I suspect you already know why keeping a high ratio of Omega 3:6 fatty acids is a good idea, so I’ll get right into the data instead. I collected nutritional data for all common nuts that I could think of. If I...

Is Taurine Vegan?

I

Taurine often used to never be vegan, but now it often is when you see it added to foods. This one’s going to take an explanation to understand. First, taurine only is found naturally in fish and meat. Plants do not make it. However, it’s not essential for human health, and the human body can produce it as needed. It’s considered a “semi-essential” amino acid, but it’s not used to form proteins...