Do Vegans Eat Gluten?


Go to the “health” aisle of most grocery stores and you’ll find most of the specialty products that are vegan-friendly or gluten-free.

They’re almost always grouped together, and many vegan products also happen to be gluten-free.

What’s going on here? Are most vegans gluten-free as well?

The explanation is pretty simple.

The Vegan Market is Growing, But Still Pretty Small

Yes, most vegans eat gluten.

There’s no particular reason to avoid gluten as a vegan (unless you have a wheat allergy), it’s not like wheat isn’t vegan.

But the reason many products highlight being both vegan and gluten-free is because both markets are pretty small.

Except in certain areas, there aren’t that many vegans, and not that many people who never eat gluten.

So, if you want to create some cookies for one group or the other, it’s pretty easy to make them suitable for the other as well.

That’s really all there is to it.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment