Is Betty Crocker Cake Mix Vegan? [List]

I

Key takeaways:

  • .All Betty Crocker mixes contain some ingredients that may or may not be vegan depending on the exact source (e.g. monoglycerides, sodium stearoyl lactylate, sugar, etc.)
  • A few flavors are clearly not vegan due to containing egg ingredients.
  • Of all the Betty Crocker Cake Mixes, the gingerbread, pineapple upside down, and pound cake mixes are most likely to be vegan.

Many cake mixes in a box are “accidentally” vegan.

They don’t contain any dairy, so as long as you use a vegan egg alternative and plant-based milk, you’re good to go.

None of Betty Crocker’s cake mixes are certified vegan, or even clearly vegan, but some of the mixes may be vegan.

I’ve gone through the ingredients for all the different mix flavors to see which ones might be vegan (a few are clearly not).

There are 3 main types of mixes that Betty Crocker makes, so I’ve divided the results into those categories:

  • Super Moist Delights
  • Super Moist Favorites
  • Other Specialty Mixes

Potential Non-Vegan Ingredients in Betty Crocker Mixes

Some of the mixes contain nonfat milk, that’s the only obvious animal ingredient in any of the mixes.

However, all the other mixes contain at least one ingredient that may or may not be vegan.

You’ll need to decide if you’d like to take the risk when deciding whether or not to purchase one.

Here are the potential problem ingredients:

That’s quite a few ingredients that may or may not be vegan.

Because most flavors contain more than one of those, there’s quite a high chance that some part of the cake mixes aren’t vegan. 

Again though, it’s your choice about what you feel is reasonable in cases like this where it’s not clear.

Super Moist “Delights” Cake Mixes

betty crocker delights cake mix

Here’s a list of all the flavors in this product line:

  • Butter Pecan
  • Carrot
  • Cherry Chip
  • Dark Chocolate
  • French Vanilla
  • German Chocolate
  • Lemon
  • Rainbow Chip
  • Red Velvet
  • Spice
  • Strawberry
  • Triple Chocolate Fudge

None of them contain milk, which is good news.

However, they all contain nearly identical ingredients, and all of the following potentially non-vegan ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Distilled Monoglycerides
  • Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
  • Artificial Colors
  • Natural Flavor
SUMMARY

The “Super Moist Delights” line of Betty Crocker mixes MIGHT be vegan-friendly but probably aren’t. Since they all have 5 ingredients that may come from animal sources, the chances that at least one of them is NOT vegan-friendly is high.

Super Moist “Favorites” Cake Mixes

betty crocker favorites cake mix

Most of these flavors are clearly NOT vegan, because they have milk:

  • Vanilla
  • Golden Vanilla
  • Butter Recipe Yellow
  • Yellow
  • White
  • Milk Chocolate

However, there are 3 other flavors in the “favorites” product line that don’t have milk:

  • Butter Recipe Chocolate 
  • Chocolate Fudge
  • Devil’s Food

In those 3, there are no artificial colors, however, they do still have some potentially non-vegan ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Distilled Monoglycerides
  • Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
  • Natural Flavor
SUMMARY

Most of the Super Moist Favorites flavors contain milk and are clearly not vegan. Even the ones that don’t contain milk have a relatively high chance of having at least one ingredient that is sourced from animals.

Other Betty Crocker Cake Mixes

betty crocker angel cake

Finally, Betty Crocker has a handful of specialty cake mixes.

These have fairly unique ingredients, so I looked through each ingredient list and pulled out the ones we’re interested in.

Cake Mix Potentially Non-Vegan Ingredients
Angel Food Cake Egg White
Confetti Angel Food Cake Egg White
Gingerbread Cake Sugar, Molasses, Natural Flavor
Pineapple Upside Down Cake Sugar
Pound Cake Mix Sugar, Distilled Monoglycerides, Artificial Color

Most of these aren’t surprising, after all, most angel food cakes in general aren’t vegan.

I’ll try to keep this page up to date if Betty Crocker changes up their mixes, but if you’d like to double check, you can find all the ingredient information for mixes on Betty Crocker’s cake mix product page.

SUMMARY

Of all the Betty Crocker Cake Mixes, the gingerbread, pineapple upside down, and pound cake mixes are most likely to be vegan.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. I've spent over 6 years as a freelance nutrition writer and researcher. During this time, I've tested over 50 vegan protein powders, and over 100 other types of vegan supplements.