Is Burger King’s Veggie Burger Patty Vegan?

I

There aren’t a lot of fast food options for vegans.

I’ve already written about whether or not Burger King’s french fries are vegan, but what about their veggie patty?

Here’s a PDF with nutrition and ingredient information for all Burger King products.

BK’s Veggie Burger Ingredients

If we scroll down to the “Veggie Burger Patty” section, here are the most notable ingredients:

  • Vegetables
  • Textured Vegetable Protein
  • Egg Whites
  • Calcium Caseinate
  • Sugar
  • Natural Flavors from non-meat sources

That’s not the entire list (it’s quite long), but most of the ingredients aren’t relevant here.

It’s pretty clear to me that Burger King’s Veggie Burger patty is not vegan friendly.

The most obvious issue is that it contains egg whites.

Additionally, it has calcium caseinate, which is a protein derived from milk.

So while lacto-ovo vegetarians are fine with eating it, vegans should avoid it for now unless the ingredients change.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment