Is Calcium Chloride Vegan?


Yes, calcium chloride is always vegan.

It’s a form of calcium that’s often included used to firm up soybeans in tofu, or added to canned vegetables.

It can even be used to de-ice roads.

It’s made from one of two methods usually.

One way is from Limestone (a stone is vegan) via a chemical reaction.

Alternatively, it can be made by purifying brine, which is where most of the calcium chloride in the United States comes from.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

1 comment