Is Calcium Citrate Vegan?

I

Calcium citrate is one of the most common absorbable forms of calcium that is included in supplements, and some foods.

The good news is that calcium citrate is vegan.

While you’ll find it in non-vegan multivitamins sometimes, you’ll mostly find it in vegan multivitamins.

How is Calcium Citrate Made

Calcium citrate is a salt produced during the fermentation of citric acid (which comes from fruit).

This is the standard process used on an industrial scale (source), so it’s safe to say that virtually all, if not all calcium citrate comes from this process, which is completely vegan.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment