Is Chex Mix Vegan? (These Flavors Might Be…)

I

Chex Mix is super easy to find, particularly at convenient stores and gas stations, so it’d be nice if it was vegan friendly.

Out of the several flavors of Chex Mix, it turns out that most are not vegan.

But 2 of them potentially are.

I looked up all the ingredients on the Chex Mix site for each flavor to save you time, and noted down any non-vegan or possibly non-vegan ingredients.

The table below is the result of that searching.

Potential Non-Vegan Ingredients in Chex Mix

chex mix

Both traditional Chex Mix and popped Chex Mix might be vegan. I say might because they both have distilled monoglycerides in them and either “sugar” or “brown sugar” in them.

  • Monoglycerides can be vegan. They can come from plant sources, but they can also come from animal sources.
  • Sugar may or may not be vegan. A decent chunk of sugar is filtered using bone char to make it as white as possible, which isn’t vegan. All Chex Mix flavors have either sugar or brown sugar (made from white sugar) in them.

The only way to know for sure for both is to get an answer from the manufacturer, but even then many manufacturers might not know where their monoglycerides are sourced from.

Which Flavors of Chex Mix Might Be Vegan?

So where does that leave us? 

If you want to be on the safe side, I’d assume that no Chex Mix is vegan.

However, if you’re willing to take a bit of a risk, there’s a decent chance that the Traditional or Popped flavors are both vegan friendly.

Here’s the data I compiled for the sake of completeness:

Flavor Vegan? Non-Vegan Ingredients
Traditional (Original) Maybe Distilled Monoglycerides (may or may not be vegan), Sugar
Cheddar No Whey Powder, Sour Cream, Butter Concentrate, Dried Cheddar Cheese, Cheese Powder, Sugar
Bold Party Mix No Distilled Monoglycerides, Dried Romano Cheese, Parmesan Cheese,, Sugar
Hot & Spicy No Dried Cheddar Cheese, Sour Cream Solids, Sugar
Jalapeno Cheddar No Whey Powder, Buttermilk Powder, Butter Concentrate, Cheddar Cheese Powder, Sour Cream Solids, Sugar
Popped Maybe Distilled Monoglycerides (may or may not be vegan), Sugar
Honey Nut No Dried Honey, Nonfat Milk, Sugar
Turtle Chex No Whey, Nonfat Milk, Sugar

Most have some sort of milk ingredients, which make them fine for vegetarians, but not vegans.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment