Is Classic White Wonder Bread Vegan? [Updated]


White Wonder bread used to clearly not be vegan.

It contained whey, which is a dairy byproduct in the cheese-making process.

But I recently checked the ingredients, and at some point in the past few years, the formulation seems to have changed, and there’s no longer any whey in it.

Here’s the list of ingredients in classic white Wonder bread:

Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Contains 2% or Less of Each of the Following: Yeast, Salt, Soybean Oil, Wheat Gluten, Dough Conditioners (Contains One or More of the Following: Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate, Monoglycerides and/or Diglycerides, Calcium Peroxide, Calcium Iodate, DATEM, Ethoxylated Mono- and Diglycerides, Enzymes), Soy Flour, Yeast Food (Ammonium Sulfate), Monocalcium Phosphate, Calcium Sulfate, Soy, Lecithin, Calcium Propionate (to Retard Spoilage).

Most ingredients are clearly vegan, but there are 2 potential non-vegan ingredient: Lecithin and monoglycerides.

Both lecithin and monoglycerides can be made from either plant or animal sources, and neither source dominates the other.

Usually companies specify if the lecithin comes from soy or sunflower, but that’s not a surefire sign that this isn’t vegan.

With monoglycerides you can’t be sure unless you contact the source.

I’ve requested additional information from Wonder Bread, and will update this page if they ever get back to me.

For now, classic white Wonder Bread is likely not vegan, but I’m not 100% sure.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment