Is Domino’s Crust Vegan?

I

While many pizza chains have vegan crust, Domino’s is not one of them.

I’ll try to keep this page up to date if anything changes, but you can always double-check the ingredients for yourself on Domino’s website here.

Currently, there are 5 types of crust, and all of them have some sort of animal ingredient:

  • Brooklyn crust – Whey
  • Handmade Pan Crust – Whey, Natural Butter Flavor (might be vegan)
  • Hand Tossed Crust – Whey
  • Gluten Free Crust – Honey
  • Thin Crust – L-cysteine

Whey is derived from milk and is obviously not vegan. Technically the natural butter flavor could be vegan, but it doesn’t matter anyways since the handmade pan crust has whey in it as well.

Honey is also clearly not vegan.

The only one that’s even close is the thin crust.

There is a Chance That The Thin Crust Is Vegan

Here’s the full ingredient list at the moment of Domino’s thin crust pizza:

Flour (Wheat, Malted Barley), Water, Soybean Oil, Salt, Calcium Propionate (Preservative), Dextrose, Leavening (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Monocalcium Phosphate, Calcium Lactate), Corn Starch, Yeast, L-Cysteine (Dough Conditioner).

Everything is clearly vegan until that very last ingredient.

While some l-cysteine comes from human hair or coal tar, the vast majority is derived from the hairs of animals.

So there’s a very high probability that this crust is not vegan.

It’s your call if you’re okay with a small amount of that in your food, but for most vegans, the line is drawn at zero animal products.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment