Is Dubble Bubble Vegan?


Is your childhood bubblegum vegan?

Let’s find out together.

We’ll take a look at the ingredients list and look for any non-vegan ingredients.

Ingredients in Dubble Bubble

dubble bubble

Here’s what you’ll find in Dubble Bubble:

Sorbitol, Gum BaseGlycerol, Artificial Flavor, Sunflower Lecithin, Mannitol, Aspartame, Acesulfame Potassium, Carnauba Wax, Artificial Color (FD&C Red 3), BHA (to Maintain Freshness).

In terms of being vegan-friendly, I highlighted 3 ingredients that you need to be aware of.

Because of those ingredients we can’t say for certain whether or not Dubble Bubble is vegan.

Here’s why:

  • Gum base – Many ingredients are allowed to go into gum base, some of which are vegan, and some of which are not. Only Dubble Bubble knows if their gum base is vegan.
  • Glycerol –Glycerol can be vegan, as it can come from either plant or animal sources. Again, only Dubble Bubble knows.
  • Artificial colors – While I think artificial colors are technically vegan, they are surrounded by animal testing, and that’s enough to put off a lot of vegans. You’ll have to decide for yourself.

Verdict: Is Dubble Bubble Vegan?

After looking at the ingredients list, we’re left with more questions than answers.

All we can conclude is that Dubble Bubble might be vegan.

Personally, I’ll stay on the safe side and not take the risk.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment