Is Fleece Vegan?

I

Fleece a popular fluffy, warm material used in clothing.

Up until now, I always thought that fleece came from wool, but I was wrong.

Just like lace, fleece describes a type of material (not a source), and generally is made from polyester.

Polyester is a plastic product, which is vegan.

However, some fleece is made with a blend. These blends usually contain polyester, as well as cotton, wool, hemp, or rayon. If fleece is called “cotton fleece,” it’s likely just made from a cotton blend.

With all that said, if you just see “fleece” on the label, it’s probably vegan. If you want to be 100% sure that it’s not, contact the company and ask for specifics.

Most fleece that has wool in it (which wouldn’t be vegan) will be labeled as “wool fleece” or something similar.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment