Is Fondant Icing Vegan?

I

Fondant has a fairly short ingredients list:

  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Gelatin
  • Vegetable fat or shortening
  • Glycerol

Gelatin is never vegan.

On top of that, shortening isn’t always vegan, and glycerol may or may not be vegan.

So that’s a whole lot of reasons that let us conclude that fondant icing typically isn’t vegan.

Vegan Alternatives to Fondant Icing

Unfortunately, there’s almost a 0% chance that you’ll find a vegan fondant icing in stores.

Instead, you’re going to have to make your own if you need it.

Here’s one recipe for vegan fondant, but there are many others. The main ingredients you’ll need are:

  • Agar agar (a substitute for gelatin)
  • Vegan shortening
  • Water
  • Sugar
  • Vegetable glycerin

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment