Is Gelatin Vegan?

I

Gelatin is 100% NOT vegan.

It’s made from the collagen in bones, skin, and hides of mainly pigs and cows.

When it comes to candy, gelatin is a vegan’s biggest enemies.

The biggest user of gelatin is JELL-O, but tons of gummy candies (like sour gummy worms) also use it to give the jelly-like texture.

Maybe more importantly, many pill capsules are made with gelatin.

There’s no perfect vegan substitute, although there are some pretty good ones.

How Is Gelatin Made?

It’s a relatively simple process:

  1. Bones, skins, and hides are extracted from dead animals.
  2. They are boiled to release collagen, another type of protein.
  3. The collagen is boiled and filtered (repeating that cycle) until it can be dried and ground into powder, which is gelatin.

It’s just another animal product which helps slaughterhouses make their profit.

Gelatin is clearly not vegan in any circumstance.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment