Is Glue Vegan? (Is Glue Made From Horses?)


I never learned how glue was made as a child, but I always had the notion that it came from animals like horses, which I must have heard somewhere.

Fast forward to now, and I really wanted to know the answer.

So, I looked up how glue is made to find out if it’s vegan.

Good News: Most Glues Are Vegan

It turns out that most glues used to be mainly made of animal products (mainly from horses, but also cows).

Collagen from bones and tendons was boiled to form a protein solution that functioned as glue.

But nowadays, most glues are synthetic.

Unfortunately, there’s no ingredients label on most glues (apparently you’re not supposed to eat it), so you’ll have to contact specific manufacturers for clarification.

What I can tell you is that these brands only sell vegan friendly glues (all synthetic, no animal testing):

Most basic glue sticks and hot glue sticks are vegan, but again, contact the manufacturer if you’re not sure.

Non-Vegan Glues

It’s actually pretty hard to find a glue that contains animal products these days.

They are mainly used for things like:

  • Fine woodworking
  • Glass art
  • Antique work
  • Repairing string instruments (e.g. violin, etc.)
  • Bookbinding

The most common type of glue that is still made from animal ingredients is hide glue.

Some other glues contain isinglass, which is derived from animal bladders.

Hopefully all glue will be vegan one day. For now, just check specific brands if you need to buy or use a glue.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment