Is Gnocchi Vegan? (Sometimes, Watch Out for These…)


Gnocchi is one of those foods that can easily be made vegan.

But a lot of the time, it contains animal products that make it unsuitable for vegans.

If you’re going to a restaurant, you’ll need to check with the kitchen staff to find out. If you’re just looking to buy gnocchi in a store to make at home, I’ll go over the ingredients to look out for.

Common Non-Vegan Ingredients in Store-Bought Gnocchi

I spent some time looking at several popular gnocchi brands.

Here are the ingredients to keep an eye out for:

Many of the brands that I came across could be vegan, but you’ll need to contact the manufacturer to make sure.

The better option to me is to make your own at home, it’s not too difficult.

Here’s a homemade vegan gnocchi recipe, and here’s one more if you’d like another option.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment