Is Kirkland Vitamin B12 Vegan? (I contacted them to find out)


I remember the first time I went to Costco after going vegan, and I spent about 15 minutes trying to look up whether or not the Kirkland vitamin B12 supplements were vegan friendly or not.

There are 2 main ways that vitamin B12 supplements can be made, one of which is vegan, and one isn’t. 

The packaging is unclear, but the fact that the B12 is in the form of methylcobalamin is a good sign, because that form is usually made in a lab.

I simply bought other supplements after giving up.

But that all changes today!

A few days ago, I finally contacted Costco’s customer service, and they got back to me with this reply:

kirkland b12 email response

The most important part is:

We have been informed that Item 1234728, Kirkland Vitamin B12 1,200 mcg, is a vegetarian product that does not contain animal ingredients. The methylcobalamin used in this product is synthetic.

So there’s our answer: Costco’s Kirkland vitamin B12 is confirmed to be vegan.

If you don’t have a Costco membership, you can find a good alternative from this list of the best vegan vitamin B12 supplements.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.


  • What about the stearic acid and magnesium stearate in the Kirkland B12 supplements? Is it cheaper for companies to mass produce vitamins using those compounds from animal sources or vegetable?

    Just wondering hope to hear anything soon.

  • Wondering though about the magnesium stearate in this product as other supplements Kirkland and other show “vegetable magnesium stearate” and just magnesium stearate.

    • I haven’t asked about that, but I’d assume it’s from the exact same supplier, just a larger pill size. Should be vegan as well.

  • Good day to you!

    What kirkland supplements are vegan? I have a friend there and is coming home in January and is asking what we would Like to buy from Canada. I need collagen, b complex , zinc, vitamin c. But I am not sure if those are good
    For vegans

    • There is no collagen vegan.

      Kirkland B complex should be vegan friendly.

      I’m not sure about the rest off the top of my head.