Is Lychee Jelly Vegan? Sometimes, Here’s Why…

I

lychee

The short answer is that lychee jelly is sometimes vegan.

Lychee is a tiny red fruit that mostly comes from Asian countries.

Inside the skin, it contains an edible white ball of fruit, with a texture almost similar to an orange.

It’s usually turned into a lychee syrup or powder, which is one of the ingredients that lychee jelly for bubble tea is made from.

What is Lychee Jelly Usually Made Of?

The reason that lychee jelly is only sometimes vegan is because it can be made from several ingredients.

In addition to the lychee syrup or powder, the most common other ingredients are:

  • Agar agar powder (vegan, comes from seaweed)
  • Gelatin (not vegan)
  • Creamer (not vegan)
  • Sugar (usually vegan)
  • Coconut (vegan)

So whether or not it’s vegan depends on the ingredients used, and often the ingredients are not vegan.

Unlike some other foods, I don’t expect most bubble tea shops to know whether their lychee is or isn’t vegan.

Usually it’s better to stick with an alternative that is almost always vegan like tapioca when ordering your bubble tea.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment