Is Marmite Vegan?


Marmite is a popular food spread from Britain.

The short answer is yes, Marmite is vegan.

If you want to know why, read on.

Marmite Ingredients


The ingredients in Marmite are:

Yeast extract, salt, vegetable juice concentrate, B vitamins, natural flavouring

All of those are typically vegan, the only one that might give you pause is the “natural flavouring,” since natural flavors aren’t always vegan.

And if you’re a new vegan, you might also not be sure about yeast, since technically yeast are organisms.

However, yeast are single-celled organisms with no sentience (much like a plant), so it is considered vegan friendly.

Marmite is Made By Unilever…Is That a Problem?

unilever companies

The only reason it may not be considered vegan by some is because it’s produced by Unilever.

Unilever is a giant company that produces many non-vegan foods, but is also known to test products on animals.

If you want to boycott the company out of principle, by all means go ahead. But this doesn’t make the product non-vegan in my eyes (or the opinions of most vegans).

When it comes to marmite itself, marmite is vegan. It’s also a good alternative to Worcestershire sauce in a pinch.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment