Is Marshmallow Fluff Vegan? (Spoilers: No)

I

marshmallow fluff

A quick look at the ingredients in marshmallow fluff tells us everything we need to know:

Corn syrup, sugar, egg white, vanillin

We can wonder about whether the sugar is vegan or not, but it doesn’t really matter because there’s egg in marshmallow fluff.

That alone means that marshmallow fluff is not vegan, although ovo vegetarians would eat it.

Vegan Alternatives to Marshmallow Fluff

I’ve yet to come across a vegan brand of store-bought marshmallow fluff.

If you find one at some point, let me know and I’ll add it to this page.

Until then, if you really want marshmallow fluff, you’ll have to make your own.

There are many easy vegan marshmallow fluff recipes, which typically just contain:

The only part that’s hard at first is getting the aquafaba from a can of chickpeas (it’s the foam at the top). 

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment