Is Nature’s Bounty Biotin Vegan?

I

Nature’s Bounty is a popular supplement maker known for “natural” ingredients.

But as we know, natural doesn’t always equal vegan.

In this case, Nature’s Bounty makes a few different biotin products. Their main 2 are softgels and tablets.

Let’s look at the softgels first:

The softgels are definitely not vegan.

Here’s the “other ingredients” list, which is everything that it uses besides biotin:

Soybean Oil, Gelatin, Vegetable Glycerin, Yellow Beeswax, Titanium Dioxide Color.

It’s good that it uses vegetable glycerin (because other glycerine is not vegan).

However, gelatin is never vegan, it’s made from the cartilage of animals, and beeswax is also clearly not vegan.

What about the tablets?

Nature’s Bounty’s biotin tablets may be vegan.

The ingredients list doesn’t have any non-vegan ingredients:

Mannitol, Crospovidone, Vegetable Stearic Acid, Natural Strawberry Flavor. Contains <2% of: Sucralose, Vegetable Magnesium Stearate.

But what I’m concerned about is that nowhere on their product or product pages does it say that the tablets are vegan.

It does say that it is “suitable for vegetarians”, but since biotin can be derived from dairy products, I’m not comfortable concluding that these are vegan.

From what I’ve seen, most vegan biotin products clearly state on the label that they are vegan. And Nature’s Bounty does not.

The good news is that there are many other alternatives that are clearly vegan friendly.

Here’s my post summing up the best vegan biotin supplements. All of them state that they are vegan on the product itself.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment